» This Story:Read +|Watch +|Talk +| Comments

Oscars 2010: Academy Award winners

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post Staff Writer
Monday, March 8, 2010; 12:30 PM

Washington Post film critic Ann Hornaday was online Monday, March 8 at 12:30 p.m. ET to discuss this year's Academy Award winners, announced at the Oscars on Sunday, March 7.

Full Coverage: 2010 Academy Awards

Ann Hornaday: Good afternoon chatters! So...Let's talk Oscars!

Minneapolis: Hi Ann -- Thanks for taking questions today. I found it somewhat odd that in their speeches neither Mo'Nique nor the screenwriter for "Precious" acknowledged Sapphire, the very talented writer who wrote "Push," the amazing book on which the movie is based -- the screenwriter especially, given that he won for best adaptation. I know he was not expected to win, but come on. Her name is in the title of the film! If I were Sapphire I'd be more than just a little annoyed, but maybe it's just me -- I'm a writer.

Ann Hornaday: Greetings Minneapolis, my ancestral hometown! Hope you're enjoying some spring there like we are! You're right that Mo'Nique nor Mr. Fletcher mentioned Sapphire by name, but in their defense: I can only imagine being up there and having to think on your feet (in Mo'Nique's case high-heeled fabulous feet) and, as Fletcher himself said, "drawing a blank." If I'm not mistaken, that was Sapphire herself sitting next to Lenny Kravtiz, looking happier than anyone when they won...So I would venture to guess there are no hard feelings. One of my favorite Oscar speeches of all time was when Steven Soderbergh very calmly said he would thank everyone he needed to privately. Classy. And a good way to deflect the inevitable 'D'oh!' moment the next morning!