washingtonpost.com
Ezra Klein: The latest on health-care reform

Ezra Klein
Washington Post Business Blogger
Thursday, March 25, 2010; 12:00 PM

Trying to understand health-care reform, but getting lost in the weeds? Don't worry, Washington Post blogger Ezra Klein can help. From individual mandates to health care exchanges, Klein explains it all. He took your questions on health-care reform, economic and domestic policy and pretty much anything you can attach a chart to.

A transcript follows.

New York, NY: Hi Ezra: I am an emergency physician in New York and have been following your reporting with great interest. Many of my patients are asking me about the future of "pre-existing conditions" and denial of coverage to children and adults due to various illnesses. Can you tell me when according to this legislation, insurance companies will no longer be able to deny coverage to children and adults with pre-existing conditions?!

Sincerely, Boris Markovich MD

Ezra Klein: Yep. For children, it's kicks in a couple of months from now. For adults, it's not until 2014. Why the lag? Because ending preexisting condition discrimination needs to be paired with other reforms, like the individual mandate, that will keep an insurance death spiral (where sick people rush into the system and healthy people rush out) from happening.

Vienna, Va.: I don't get the GOP strategy on repealing. If they really are interested in health care, they'd work on the unfinished business -- serious efforts at delivery system reform. The pilot projects in the bill are basically worthless because they will take so long to get there. Are any Democrats seriously interested in this, or did they get what they want and now will go home?