washingtonpost.com
How to Deal

Lily Garcia
Tuesday, April 20, 2010; 11:00 AM

Welcome to How to Deal Live: Let' begin.

rehab-no no no: Lily,I'll be starting work in a few weeks after time off in rehab. I can duck the reasons why I went away, but kind of worried about my own abilities to work again. Of course i'm also worried about someone finding out.Suggestions? advice?

Lily Garcia: You can also view helpful information from the Kolmac Clinic at www.kolmac.com.

Switching government agencies: Hello, I am relocating to the Langley AFB area and I am thinking about trying to work in a government IT position. I have 7 years in the IT field and I am also a disabled veteran. My biggest debate is the fact I am currently in school for International Relations.If I were to start a career in IT, would I be pigeon-holed into that career track or would I be able to transfer to say, the State Department or CIA when I graduate? And would it be extremely difficult to transfer?

Lily Garcia: Although you will not necessarily be pigeonholed, it will probably be easiest for you to pursue a position that incorporates your IT skills, which can include positions that a focus on cyber espionage and other concentrations that are not purely IT.

Salary History?: How should a salary history be formatted? Is it OK if I include a quantified estimate of my benefits (let's say metro subsidies or tuition reimbursements) as part of the total compensation, or should I list the information somehow differently? If it matters, I'd go off the total compensation statement from my current employer, so there would be no dishonest "inflation."

Lily Garcia: