How to Deal Live

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Lily Garcia
Tuesday, May 4, 2010; 11:00 AM

Lily Garcia: Let's begin.

when some employees do all the work: I am a helpdesk technician on a contract with federal agency. I'm relatively new (only 3 months.) There is a situation where some people do hardly any work, but get paid. I would complain to the supervisors or HR, but the slackers are "golden children" and the supervisors don't do any work either. How exactly can I resolve this? In my opinion, these people shouldn't even be working on a federal contract, since all they do is waste money.

Lily Garcia: I understand that it might just be a matter of principle for you, but I encourage you to think carefully about the possible ramifications for you of making a complaint versus the likelihood of anything changing for the better.

Bullies: How do you deal with a workplace bully? How do you deal with said bully if your boss won't back you when you assert yourself in the face of bullying?

Lily Garcia: If your boss will not help you, you should also consider escalating the issue to your boss' boss or HR.

Job Classification: How do you approach the subject of being grossly misclassified in a position when the job market is in the tank? A new classification would mean being more marketable with a better title and better salary. The work, I feel, does warrant this.

Lily Garcia: Even in an employer's job market, great employees are hard to come by.