» This Story:Read +|Watch +|Talk +| Comments

Russian spies in court today: CIA official analyzes

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Frederick P. Hitz
Fmr. CIA Inspector General
Thursday, July 1, 2010; 2:00 PM

Nine suspects arrested in the Russian spy scandal will ask U.S. courts Thursday to release them during the probe, but their requests are at risk after the disappearance of an 11th suspect in Cyprus.The nine are to seek bail in three separate hearings to be held in federal courts in Boston, New York and Alexandria, Virginia.

This Story
View All Items in This Story
View Only Top Items in This Story
This Story
This Story

Former CIA Inspector General Frederick P. Hitz was online Thursday, July 1, at 2 p.m. ET to discuss the latest develpments in the case of the Russian spies.

Frederick P. Hitz: Hi, this Fred Hitz. I was a career intel officer at CIA, finishing as the Agency's first statutory Inspector General from 1990-98. I am here to try to answer your questions. FH

Detroit, Mich.: Are these so-called spies the best the Russians have? I mean, why not just hire a lobbying firm at half the cost to do their reserach for them? Better yet, why not encourage their students to attend prestigious colleges in the U.S. and get internships/jobs on the Hill or in think tanks? Seriously, all the information they gathered could have easily been found on the Internet.

Frederick P. Hitz: I agree completely. Most of the comment from experienced intel operatives has been the same. Most of the info they seemed after was obtainable from the internet. It looks like it was a holdover of a cold war mindset.