Mel Gibson audio: Angry recording surfaces
Mel Gibson audio: Angry recording surfaces

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Gloria Allred
Defense Attorney
Tuesday, July 13, 2010; 12:00 PM

RadarOnline.com has released more tapes of Mel Gibson threatening violence against his former girlfriend, Oksana Grigorieva, and seemingly acknowledging that he hit her. Los Angeles authorities launched a domestic violence investigation last week. He has been reportedly dropped by his talent agency.

This Story

Criminal defense attorney Gloria Allred was online Tuesday, July 13, at Noon ET to discuss the tapes, whether they can be used against Gibson in a court of law, Hollywood reaction and the future of the the "Lethal Weapon" star.

Washington, D.C.: Why is the audio quality different when she talks and when he talks?

Gloria Allred: I think it will take an audio expert to answer that question and I am not an audio expert.

West Columbia, S.C.: This girl seems like a Delilah, trying to set Mel Gibson up for a bad situation. Everyone knows Mel is not perfect. If she had any real loyalty or honor or class, she would fight this custody battle away from the public.

Gloria Allred: I don't think anyone else should be blamed for what Mel Gibson says or does. He needs to take responsibility for his words and actions, and I hope he will be made accountable in a court of law.

Fairfax, Va.: What is the reaction in Hollywood?

Gloria Allred: I think that many in Hollywood are turning their backs on Mel Gibson. These tapes are shocking and disturbing and very, very serious. They are extremely damaging to his reputation and career.

Annandale, Va.: Will there be a court case now? Might you represent Oksana?

Gloria Allred: I do not represent Oksana. There is a criminal investigation by the Sheriff of LA County. The recordings have been subpoenaed. I think that there is sufficient evidence for the District Attorney of LA County to consider prosecuting Mr. Gibson.