Election 2010: Results and analysis with The Post's Robert G. Kaiser

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Robert G. Kaiser
Associate Editor, The Washington Post
Tuesday, November 2, 2010; 9:00 PM

Washington Post associate editor Robert G. Kaiser was online Tuesday, Nov. 2, at 9 p.m. ET to discuss and analyze the midterm election returns.

Robert G. Kaiser: Good evening and welcome to our election-night discussion. Here's what happens: you ask questions and make comments, and I react to them, answer them, or, in cases of extreme rudeness, ignore them. I've been doing this for many years, and enjoy it every time. My hope is to help everyone think about what is happening in our country, never an easy assignment. I'm happy to post comments that aren't really questions, so please give us your analyses as well as your queries. My plan is to stick with this until about 11:30 EDT, the fates willing. Occasionally I'll take a brief break to ask the Fix or Dan Balz to explain things to me, but I'll try to keep the discussion going.

Hyattsville, Md.: Hello Mr Kaiser - Without a strong challenger to Obama in 2012, it would seem that the "party-of-no" strategy will backfire for the Republicans as long as there's the slightest prodding from the president to come up with realistic options on legislation. Do you see them re-evaluating their positions on tax policy, for instance, or can stonewalling get them back to a majority across the board in two years?

Robert G. Kaiser: I'm sure we'll have lots of comments and questions about what Republicans do with their new strength--a good question regardless of just how great that strength turns out to be.

I caution against rushing to a judgment like "without as strong challenger..." I've been around too long to forget how often "strong candidates" materialize relatively late in the game. Barrack Obama is a case in point. So let's not conclude today that the GOP cannot come up with what turns out to be a strong candidate.