Brain trauma and rehabilitation

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Brad Voytek
Friday, January 21, 2011; 12:00 PM

Bradley Voytek, Ph. D., a neuroscientist at the University of California at Berkeley, will answer your questions about how the brain recovers after an injury, such as in the case of Rep. Gabrielle Giffords.

Brad Voytek: Hello everyone, thanks for joining us here. Just so everyone is aware, I want to say right up front that I'm not a medical doctor, nor do I know any specific details about Rep. Giffords' condition.That said, I hope I can answer all of your questions within the next hour or so.

speech: When will we know if she will be able to talk? If she can speak, how long until she reaches her full potential? In other words, will her speaking never get better after several weeks/months/years?

Brad Voytek: There's no way to really be certain. There is a lot of variability between subjects in terms of their recovery. As Dr. Brown said in his article, Rep. Giffords youth and intelligence will work in her favor, though.Recovery from brain damage is a long process that will require a lot of work and rehabilitation. That said, if recovery does happen, speech generally improves over time, albeit sometimes very slowly.

Compensations in the brain: Someone mentioned that other parts of the brain can compensate for a damaged part, as in the case of Giffords. Is that right? And is the area where she was injured the speech center, and is there a compensatory avenue to restore speech if this is so?