» This Story:Read +| Comments

Soccer Federation Criticizes Penalty Call Against D.C. United

Review Says Call in May 30 Game at Revolution was 'Doubtful, Soft and Trifling'

Discussion Policy
Comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.
Washington Post Staff Writer
Saturday, June 6, 2009

For the third time this season, officiating supervisors from soccer's national governing body have criticized a call made during a crucial moment of a D.C. United match.

This Story
View All Items in This Story
View Only Top Items in This Story

In a strongly worded review posted on the U.S. Soccer Federation's Web site, directors of the referee program said that game officials erred in awarding a penalty kick to New England in the waning moments of a 2-1 victory over United last Saturday at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass.

The play occurred in the 89th minute when Revolution forward Taylor Twellman fell in the penalty area despite mild contact by United defender Bryan Namoff. Referee Hilario Grajeda initially allowed play to continue, but one of the assistant referees (linesmen) ruled that Namoff had committed a foul.

Grajeda accepted the assistant's ruling without further discussion, and after vehement protests by United, Steve Ralston converted the tiebreaking penalty kick.

Paul Tamberino, the USSF's director of referee development, and Brian Hall, manager of assessment and training, concluded this week that the assistant referee's call was both incorrect and an example of "over-involvement."

They wrote that "there is minimal contact. The contact is doubtful, soft and trifling. It does not prevent the attacker from playing the ball nor does it cause him to misplay the ball. . . . The attacker is falling backward on his own volition. . . . This is a 50-50 call that must be left to the referee, who is positioned much closer. . . . The [assistant] should leave the decision to the referee."

The report said that Grajeda should have stopped play and discussed the matter with the assistant before awarding the penalty kick. It also noted that, other than Twellman, no New England players showed signs of discontent -- "a sign that can help confirm any instinctual feelings the referee may have."

Earlier this season, the USSF said referee Jair Marrufo should have immediately stopped United's season opener against the Los Angeles Galaxy when teammates Devon McTavish and Greg Janicki were involved in a bloody, head-to-head collision. Last month, Tamberino and Hall wrote that an assistant referee's poor positioning allowed a Chivas USA player, who was clearly offside, to embark on a breakaway and score easily during a 2-2 tie with United.

Asked for his reaction to the latest USSF report, United General Manager Dave Kasper said: "You are going to have decisions go for you and you are going to have decisions go against you, and over the course of the season, you hope it evens out."




» This Story:Read +| Comments

More in the D.C. United Section

Recruiting Insider

Soccer Insider

Steven Goff with exclusive coverage of United and soccer around the world.

la Barra Brava

United Force

The boisterous group La Barra Brava is determined to score a No. 1 reputation.

David Beckham

MLS Salaries

See how much your favorite player is making in comparison to David Beckham.

© 2009 The Washington Post Company