EDUCATION Education Review

  NEWS
  Politics
  Nation
  World
  Metro
  Style
  Business
  Technology
  Health
    EDUCATION
    Columns
    District
    Maryland
    Virginia
    Adult Education
    Higher Education
    Teachers
    Parenting
    Preschool
    K to 12
    School Guide
    KidsPost
    Special Reports
    Live Discussions
    Photo Galleries
    Education Index
  Real Estate
  Obituaries
  Corrections
  Archives

washingtonpost.com > Education
From The Washington Post Magazine

"We stayed small, and our focus remained on the student...and that is what has saved us," says President Jane Margaret O'Brien. (Tom Wolff)
Live Online
 Distrust in the Schoolhouse: Post writer Linda Perlstein will discuss her Sunday Magazine story, Monday at 1 p.m.
College Directory
 District of Columbia
 Maryland
 Virginia
Previous Issues
Old-Fashioned Classroom Nov. 2002
 July 2002
 April 2002
 November 2001
 September 2001
 July 2001
 April 2001
 November 2000
 July 2000
 April 2000
 November 1999
 July 1999
 April 1999
Higher Ed
St. Mary's Grows Up 
How a school founded as seminary for "the Mothers of future generations" became one of the top-ranked small colleges in the country.

Public Ed
Suspicious Minds
A hypothetical question: You get a call from your child's school. The teacher says he misbehaved in class, did something you've never seen him do. Your child denies it. Whom do you believe?

Under Review
Back To 'School'
A review of the new four-part documentary on the remarkable rise of public education and its undeniable progress throughout history.

Class Struggle
The New Completion Competition
This seems to be the the year for Europeans to sneer at Americans. Our president is being lampooned for those cowboy tendencies that the Old World just hates. And for the first time, the United States has lost its world lead in college completion rates.

Teacher's Corner
'THE FISH DANCED'
What happens when SOL's and grades don't matter in the classroom? "It was a magic summer for my students and me. We were probably the only group in school that didn't want our time together to end..."



© 2002-2005 The Washington Post Company