Saturday, Sept. 14

2.9 million, 641,000 of whom are refugees.
Bosnians living abroad, in 55 countries, will also vote.


The highest office, the three-member collective presidency, will be filled by one Muslim, one Serb and one Croat. The three men widely expected to win seats are Alija Izetbegovic, who has been the president of Bosnia since 1990 and is leader of the Party of Democratic Action, a Muslim political group; Momcilo Krajisnik, the president of the Bosnian Serb republic's self-styled parliament and a hard-line member of the Serbian Democratic Party; and Kresimir Zubak, considered a moderate member of the nationalist Croatian Democratic Union.

4,400 polling stations

Voters in the Muslim-Croat federation will pick:

A Croat and a Muslim member of the joint presidency of Bosnia.

28 members of a national assembly, to be known as the House of Representatives.

A Muslim-Croat federal parliament.

Eight cantonal governments that make up the federation.

Voters in the Bosnian Serb Republic will pick:

A Serb member of the joint presidency of Bosnia.

14 members of the national House of Representatives.

A president for the Bosnian Serb Republic.

A parliament for the Bosnian Serb Republic.


The House of Representatives is to meet one month after the election.

A second national chamber, the House of Peoples, is to be formed. This body will have 15 delegates: 10 from the Muslim-Croat federation (five Croats and five Muslims) and five from the Bosnian Serb Republic (five Serbs). This chamber will be picked by the Muslim-Croat federal parliament and the parliament of the Bosnian Serb Republic. All legislation will require the approval of both chambers.


The joint presidency's first term will be two years. After that it will be four years. It is a rotating presidency. The presidency will appoint a Council of Ministers, or cabinet, which must be approved by the House of Representatives. No more than two-thirds of the ministers will be from the Muslim-Croat federation.

Go to International Section | Bosnian Elections Page | Back to top

© 1996 The Washington Post Co.