washingtonpost.com > Metro > Special Reports > Local Elections 2006

Maryland Comptroller

About the Race

William Donald Schaefer, one of the dominant figures in Maryland political history, conceded defeat to Del. Peter Franchot (D-Montgomery) in the tight three-way race for the Democratic nomination to be Maryland comptroller. Franchot edged out Anne Arundel County Executive Janet S. Owens. Schaefer finished third.

Length of term: Four years

Recent Headlines:
More stories on washingtonpost.com »

General Election

Results below are unofficial and may be incomplete. For final results, check state and county board of elections web sites.

Md. Comptroller Results  
Peter Franchot (D) 944,15659%
Anne McCarthy (R) 643,96941%
Bob Auerbach (Green) 950%
Key: * Incumbent | Red Checkmark Winner
Precincts: 100% | Updated: 2:29 PM ET | Source: AP


Anne M. McCarthy

Anne M. McCarthy (R)

Occupation Associate professor of management, Univ. of Baltimore; former dean, Merrick School of Business, Univ. of Baltimore.
Education BA, economics, Georgetown University; MBA, University of Connecticut; PhD, strategic management, Purdue University.
Age: 48 | Residence: Bolton Hill, Baltimore.
» Web site | » E-mail

Peter Franchot

Peter Franchot (D)

Occupation Business development consultant.
Education BA, English, Amherst College; JD, Northeastern University School of Law.
Age: 59 | Residence: Takoma Park.
» Web site | » E-mail

Full Coverage | Race Profiles, Results

Click on a city or county above for local election results.
 » Find Your Maryland Ballot
 » Find Your Virginia Ballot
 » Washington, D.C. Full Ballot

Find Your Legislative District

Anne Arundel County
Frederick County
Howard County
Montgomery County
Prince George's County
Southern Maryland

» Submit a correction request.
Note: This list of candidates is not comprehensive. Candidates will be added and removed from this page as the race unfolds.

© The Washington Post Company