washingtonpost.com > Metro > Special Reports > Local Elections 2006

Washington, D.C. Primary Winners

Click on race below for results.

Featured Coverage

D.C. Mayoral Race
Fenty wins Democratic primary marked by glitches and a light turnout in some precincts.
Video: Fenty Claims Victory

Council Chairman
In race for council chairman, Vincent C. Gray (D-Ward 7) defeats colleague Kathy Patterson (D-Ward 3).

Beltway and Beyond
Submit a question to the Post's Robert Barnes or join live at 1 p.m. on Wednesday.

Primary Results

City Council


Vincent C. Gray (D)

Ward 1

Jim Graham (D)

Ward 3

Mary M. Cheh (D), Theresa Conroy (R)

Ward 5

Carolyn C. Steptoe (STG), Harry 'Tommy' Thomas Jr. (D)

Ward 6

Tommy Wells (D), Antonio (Tony) Williams (R)

At Large

Phil Mendelson (D), Marcus W. Skelton (R), Ann C. Wilcox (STG)


Adrian M. Fenty (D), David W. Kranich (R), Chris Otten (STG)

Delegate to the U.S. House

Eleanor Holmes Norton (D),

Shadow U.S. Representative

Mike Panetta (D), Keith R. Ware (STG)

Shadow U.S. Senator

Michael D. Brown (D), Joyce Robinson-Paul (STG)

Back to top »

© 2006 The Washington Post Company