washingtonpost.com > Metro > Special Reports > Local Elections 2007

Map: Races By District, Key Races

The fight for control of the General Assembly this fall could come down to several contests in Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads, parts of the state that have undergone significant demographic shifts during the past two decades.

Note: Please upgrade your Flash plug-in to view our enhanced content.

About This Map: The General Assembly Balance of Power Map begins with party totals for uncontested seats and adds seats won by each party as the election unfolds.



All 40 Virginia Senate seats are up for election. In total, Republicans currently hold 23 seats and Democrats hold 17. Democrats need a net gain of 4 seats to take control of the Senate. A 50-50 tie would result in an advantage for Republicans because the Lt. Governor Bill Bolling (R) would cast tie breaking votes.

District 1

John C. Miller (D), Patricia B. "Tricia" Stall (R)

District 6

Ralph S. Northam (D), D. Nick Rerras* (R)

District 27

Donald C. Marro (I), Karen Schultz (D), Jill Holtzman Vogel (R)

District 29

Charles J. Colgan* (D), Robert Fitzsimmonds (R)

District 28

Albert Pollard (D), Richard Stuart (R)

District 33

Mark R. Herring* (D), Patricia B. Phillips (R)

District 34

Jeannemarie Devolites Davis* (R), J.C. "Chap" Petersen (D)

District 37

Ken, II Cuccinelli* (R), Janet S. Oleszek (D)

District 39

George L. Barker (D), J.K. "Jay" O'Brien, Jr.* (R)

Back to top »

House of Delegates

All 100 Virginia House of Delegate seats are up for election. Republicans currently hold 57 seats. Democrats hold 40 seats. Three seats are held by independents. Del. Lacey E. Putney (I) caucuses with the Republicans, Del. Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr. (I) and Del. Katherine B. Waddell (I) do not caucus with the Democrats or Republicans. Democrats need a net gain of 11 seats to close the gap.

District 32

Lynn Chapman (R), David E. Poisson* (D)

District 33

Fernando "Marty" Martinez (D); Joe T. May* (R)

District 34

David M. "Dave" Hunt (R), Margaret G. Vanderhye (D)

District 40

Timothy D. "Tim" Hugo* (R), Rex A. Simmons (D)

District 50

Jackson H. Miller* (R), Jeanette Rishell (D)

District 51

Faisal Gill (R), Paul Nichols (D)

District 52

Christopher Brown (D), Jeffrey M. Frederick* (R)

District 67

Marc Cadin (R), C. Chuck Caputo* (D)

District 83

Joseph F. "Joe" Bouchard (D), Chirs P. Stolle (R)

District 86

Jay Donahue (D), Thomas Davis Rust* (R)

Back to top »


© 2007 The Washington Post Company