washingtonpost.com > Metro > Community Guides

Board of Education

Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building
5980 Radio Station Rd.
P.O. Box 2770
La Plata 20646
301-934-7224
301-870-3814
kstubblefield@ccboe.com
www.ccboe.com/site/boardofed/boardofed.htm
Members are elected by voters to four-year terms. The next election is in 2010. The board meets at 1 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month.

Donald M. Wade
Chairman
dwade@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Roberta Wise
Vice chairman
rswise@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Jennifer S. Abell
jabell@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Collins A. Bailey
cbailey@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Charles Carrington
cecarrington@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Maura Cook
mcook@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Pamela A. Pedersen
papedersen@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Andrew Van Woerkom
Student member
Selected by the Charles County Association of Student Councils. Van Woerkom attends Westlake High School.
avanwoerkom@ccboe.com
301-934-7224

Back to top »

School System Officials

Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building
5980 Radio Station Rd.
P.O. Box 2770
La Plata 20646
301-932-6610
301-870-3814
www.ccboe.com

James E. Richmond
Superintendent of schools
Appointed by the Board of Education with approval of state superintendent of schools to a four-year term. Term expires 2009.
jrichmond@ccboe.com
301-932-6610
301-870-3814
301-934-7223

Ronald G. Cunningham
Deputy superintendent
rcunningham@ccboe.com
301-934-7320

Paul T. Balides
Assistant superintendent for finance, business administration and technology
ptbalides@ccboe.com
301-934-7350

Judy W. Estep
Assistant superintendent of instruction
jestep@ccboe.com
301-934-7377

Charles L. Wineland
Assistant superintendent for supporting services
cwineland@ccboe.com
301-934-7270

Keith Hettel
Assistant superintendent for human resources
khettel@ccboe.com
301-934-7255

Santy W. DiSabatino
Transportation director
sdisabatino@ccboe.com
301-934-7262

Katie O’Malley-Simpson
Coordinator of communications
komalley@ccboe.com
301-934-7221

Back to top »

Higher Education

College of Southern Maryland
8730 Mitchell Rd.
P.O. Box 910
La Plata 20646
301-934-2251
From metro area: 301-870-3008
From St. Mary’s: 240-725-5300
From Calvert: 443-550-6000
www.csmd.edu
The College of Southern Maryland is an accredited community college offering associate degrees and certificates in an array of academic subjects and vocational pursuits. The college has four locations in Southern Maryland.

Waldorf Center for Higher Education
3261 Old Washington Rd.
Waldorf 20602
301-632-2900
From metro area: 301-870-3008, Ext. 2900
www.waldorfcenter.org
At the Waldorf center, the College of Southern Maryland and the University of Maryland-University College offer programs for working adults seeking to complete a bachelor’s degree. Degrees are offered in five areas of study: accounting, computer programming, general studies communications pathway, information services technology and management development.

Back to top »


© 2006 The Washington Post Company