washingtonpost.com > Metro > Community Guides

Administrative Offices

8115 Gatehouse Rd., Suite 5400
Falls Church 22042
571-423-1050
Fax: 571-423-1207
www.fcps.edu
With about 165,000 students atsome 200 schools, the county hasone of the nationís largest schoolsystems. Individual schoolsschedule new-student registrationdates in early August, butstudents can be enrolled at anytime, and school officials urgeparents to enroll their children assoon as possible after arriving inthe area. To locate the schoolnearest you, go to www.fcps.edu/boundary or call 703-329-9831.

Jack D. Dale
Superintendent
jack.dale@fcps.edu
571-423-1010
Fax: 571-423-1007

Back to top »

School Board

8115 Gatehouse Rd., Suite 5400
Falls Church 22042
571-423-1075
Fax: 571-423-1067
www.fcps.k12.va.us/schoolbd.htm

The 12-member elected board operatesthe countyís public schoolsand sets general policy. Boardmembers, who serve four-yearterms, are elected from each ofnine districts and for three atlargepositions. Members are paid$12,000 a year; the chairman receivesan additional $1,000 ayear. Meetings are in the boardroom at Luther Jackson MiddleSchool, 3020 Gallows Rd., FallsChurch area.

Catherine A. Belter
Springfield District
Term expires Dec. 31.
catherine.belter@fcps.edu
571-423-1080

Brad Center
Lee District
The boardís vice chairman. Term expires Dec. 31.
brad.center@fcps.edu
571-423-1081

Stephen M. Hunt
At large
Term expires Dec. 31.
stephen.hunt@fcps.edu
571-423-1089

Kaye Kory
Mason District
Term expires Dec. 31.
kaye.kory@fcps.edu
571-423-1083

Stuart D. Gibson
Hunter Mill District
Term expires Dec. 31.
stuart.gibson@fcps.edu
571-423-1082

Ilryong Moon
At large
The boardís chairman. Term expires Dec. 31.
ilryong.moon@fcps.edu
571-423-1090

Phillip A. Niedzielski-Eichner
Providence District
Term expires Dec. 31.
pneichner@fcps.edu
571-423-1084

Janet S. Oleszek
At large
Term expires Dec. 31.
janet.oleszek@fcps.edu
571-423-1091

Kathy L. Smith
Sully District
Term expires Dec. 31.
kathy.l.smith@fcps.edu
571-423-1085

Daniel G. Storck
Mount Vernon District
Term expires Dec. 31.
daniel.storck@fcps.edu
571-423-1086

Jane K. Strauss
Dranesville District
Term expires Dec. 31.
jane.strauss@fcps.edu
571-423-1087

Tessie Wilson
Braddock District
Term expires Dec. 31.
tessie.wilson@fcps.edu
571-423-1088

Back to top »

Higher Education

George Mason University
4400 University Dr.
Fairfax 22030
703-993-1000
TDD: 703-993-1002
http://www.gmu.edu
The school offers more than 100 degree programs at its main campus in Fairfax and branches in Arlington and Prince William counties.

Northern Virginia Community College, Annandale Campus
8333 Little River Turnpike
Annandale 22003
703-323-3000
TDD: 703-323-3744
http://www.nvcc.vccs.edu
http://www.nvcc.edu/annandale/
The community college, the state's largest, offers two-year associate's degrees, one-year and career studies certificates, and programs in continuing education and community services.

Northern Virginia Community College, Medical Education Center
6699 Springfield Center Dr.
Springfield 22150
703-822-6500
TDD: 703-822-6510
http://www.nvcc.edu/medical/
The center for health-related careers is near Springfield Mall. It includes a medical education campus providing health care services, classrooms, laboratories, a library, conference rooms and an events center.

University of Virginia School of Continuing and Professional Studies
7054 Haycock Rd.
Falls Church 22043
703-536-1100
Fax: 703-536-1111
http://www.scps.virginia.edu/northern
The Northern Virginia Center in Falls Church, near the West Falls Church Metro station, offers residents and employers more than 30 select academic programs in education, business, IT and engineering.

Virginia Tech
7054 Haycock Rd.
Falls Church 22043
703-538-8324
Fax: 703-538-8320
TTY: 703-538-8314
http://www.nvc.vt.edu
Virginia Tech offers various programs at its Northern Virginia Center, near the West Falls Church Metro station.

University of Phoenix, Northern Virginia Campuses
11730 Plaza America Dr., Suite 200
and
8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Dr., Suite 200
Reston and Fairfax
703-376-6100
Fax: 703-435-2160 (Reston)
Fax: 703-573-6461 (Fairfax)
http://www.phoenix.edu
The university, with branches in Northern Virginia including Reston and Fairfax City, claims to be the largest private accredited university in North America. Its students, with an average age of 35, can take classes on flexible schedules, including evenings, weekends and online.

Back to top »

Falls Church City Public Schools

803 W. Broad St.,
Suite 300
Falls Church 22046
703-248-5600

Lois F. Berlin
Superintendent
lberlin@fccps.org
703-248-5601

School Board

www.fccps.k12.va.us/schboard.htm
Regularly scheduled meetings are at 7:30 p.m. the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month in City Hall chambers at 300 Park Ave.

Craig Cheney
Chairman
cheney@ppc.com

Kathryn Chandler
Vice chairman
chandlerka@aol.com

Rosaura Aguerrebere
Board member
ag485@aol.com

Susan Kearney
Board member
spkearney@gmail.com

Ron Peppe
Board member
ron@ronpeppe.com

Kieran Sharpe
Board member
kjsharpe@starpower.net

Joan Wodiska
Board member
wodiska2004@yahoo.com

Back to top »

Fairfax City Public Schools

Sisson House
10455 Armstrong St.
Fairfax 22030
703-385-7911

George Stepp
Superintendent
gstepp@fairfaxva.gov
703-385-7911
http://www.fairfaxva.gov/School/School.asp
SchoolBoard@fairfaxva.gov

Fairfax City has a separate, elected school board that generally meets on the first Monday of the month.

Janice B. Miller
Chairman
jmiller@patriot.net

Jon Buttram
Board member
jbuttram@csc.com

Allen C. Griffith
Vice chairman
griffith@patriot.net

Julie Knight
Board member
b_jknight@msn.com

Amy Craig
Board member
amymcraig@aol.com

Back to top »


© 2006 The Washington Post Company