washingtonpost.com > Metro > Community Guides

Board of Supervisors

County Government Center
1 Harrison St. SE
Leesburg 20175
703-777-0100
Fax: 703-777-0421
bos@loudoun.gov
http://www.loudoun.gov/bos
The board is the primary governing body of Loudoun County. It is made up of a representative from each of Loudoun's eight electoral districts and a chairman elected by the entire county. Members serve four-year terms.
Meetings:9:30 a.m. the first and third Tuesdays of the month.
Mailing address for all supervisors: 1 Harrison St. SE, fifth floor, P.O. Box 7000, Leesburg 20177.

Scott K. York (I-At Large)
Chairman
703-777-0204
Fax: 703-777-0421
syork@loudoun.gov

Bruce E. Tulloch (R-Potomac)
Vice chairman
703-777-0105
703-777-0204
btulloch@loudoun.gov

James Burton (I-Blue Ridge)
703-777-0210
703-777-0204
jburton@loudoun.gov

Jim Clem (R-Leesburg)
703-777-0203
703-777-0204
jclem1@loudoun.gov

Eugene A. Delgaudio (R-Sterling)
703-771-5819
703-777-0204
eugenedelgaudio@erols.com

Sarah R. Kurtz (D-Catoctin)
703-771-5028
703-777-0204
skurtz@loudoun.gov

Stephen J. Snow (R-Dulles)
703-771-5069
703-777-0204
ssnow@loudoun.gov

Mick Staton Jr. (R-Sugarland Run)
703-771-5033
703-777-0204
mstaton@loudoun.gov

Lori Waters (R-Broad Run)
703-771-5088
703-777-0204
lori.waters@loudoun.gov

Back to top »

County Officials

Robert S. Wertz Jr. (R)
Commissioner of the revenue
703-777-0260
cor@loudoun.gov
The commissioner is elected by county voters to a four-year term. The office makes personal property tax and license tax assessments, runs a program to provide tax relief to the elderly and disabled, and can help individuals with questions about state income tax returns.

H. Roger Zurn Jr. (R)
Treasurer
703-777-0280
taxes@loudoun.gov
Branch office:
21641 Ridgetop Cir., Suite 104, Sterling
Hours for both offices:
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays
The treasurer is elected by voters to a four-year term. The office bills and collects taxes; issues the county's vehicle license decals; and invests, safeguards and disburses all county revenue.

Back to top »

County Agencies

Department of Economic Development
1 Harrison St. SE, fifth floor
Leesburg 20177
703-777-0426
good4biz@loudoun.gov
http://www.loudoun.gov/business
The department works to attract and retain businesses in the county. It conducts small-business seminars and creates initiatives to increase the economic vitality of Loudoun's agriculture, rural areas and small towns.

Department of Family Services
102 Heritage Way NE, Suite 103
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0353
dfs@loudoun.gov
http://www.loudoun.gov/housing
The agency maintains an apartment guide for the public, supports affordable housing initiatives, assists low-income residents with Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) rental or utility issues, and provides help with rental evictions or foreclosures. It also provides for transitional and emergency shelter for the homeless.

Department of Planning
1 Harrison St. SE, third floor
Leesburg 20177
703-777-0246
Fax: 703-777-0441
dop@loudoun.gov
http://www.loudoun.gov/planning
Julie Pastor
Director
703-777-0246
dop@loudoun.gov
The department develops policy plans and programs to guide the development of land, buildings and the transportation network. It also reviews applications for re-zonings and special exceptions, and it provides professional and support services to the Planning Commission.

Economic Development Commission
1 Harrison St. SE, fifth floor
Leesburg 20177
703-777-0426, Fax: 703-771-5363
http://www.loudoun.gov/edc
This public-private partnership promotes economic development in the county and brings together business and government leaders to exchange ideas and share experiences related to business growth.

Planning Commission
1 Harrison St. SE., third floor
Leesburg 20177
703-777-0246, Fax: 703-777-0441
loudounpc@loudoun.gov
http://www.loudoun.gov/planning/pcomm.htm
This nine-member advisory board, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, makes recommendations on development, comprehensive planning, land-use policies and the county's Capital Improvements Program. Meets at 6 p.m. the first and third Mondays of the month.

Back to top »

School Board

21000 Education Ct.
Ashburn 20148
571-252-1020
schools@loudoun.k12.va.us
http://www.loudoun.k12.va.us
Meetings:4 and 6:30 p.m. the second Tuesday and 6:30 p.m. the fourth Tuesday of each month; no fourth-Tuesday meetings in July, August and December.

Robert F. DuPree Jr. (Dulles)
Chairman
rfdupree@aol.com
703-729-3430

Tom Reed (At Large)
Vice chairman
tomreedatlarge@aol.com
703-777-1088

John Stevens (Potomac)
stevens@loudounschools.org
703-328-3782

J. Warren Geurin (Sterling)
jwgeurin@aol.com
703-437-9428

Priscilla B. Godfrey (Blue Ridge)
qbeeme@aol.com
540-687-5689

Joseph M. Guzman (Sugarland Run)
mail@josephguzman.com
703-421-6528

Mark J. Nuzzaco (Catoctin)
mark@nuzzacolcps.org
703-771-2056

Bob Ohneiser (Broad Run)
ohneiserlaw@verizon.net
703-729-6446

Sarah B. Smith (Leesburg)
sarahbsmith@comcast.net
703-777-4974

Back to top »

Town of Hamilton

53 E. Colonial Hwy.
Hamilton 20158
540-338-2811
Fax: 540-338-9263
hamilton.va@comcast.net
http://www.town.hamilton.va.us
The Town of Hamilton was named for Col. James Hamilton of Waterford, the town's first postmaster and a frequent host to George Washington as Washington traveled through to Vestals Gap.

Town Council Meetings: 7:30 p.m. the second Monday of the month.

H. Ray Whitbey
Mayor
540-338-1203
hamilton.va@comcast.net

John D. Unger
Vice mayor
540-338-4620

Craig M. Green
540-338-3502

Michael E. Snyder
540-338-2365
703-771-8344
msnyder@cmzlaw.com

Ralph Baxter
540-338-5548

Joylyn Hannahs
540-338-0423

Back to top »

Town of Hillsboro

36966 Charles Town Pike
Hillsboro 20132
540-668-6966
Hillsborough, the former spelling, means "a shelter in the hill."
Town Council Meetings:7 p.m. the third Tuesday of the month at the community center (Old Stone School), at Routes 9 (Charles Town Pike) and 690.

Roger L. Vance
Mayor
540-668-6966
rlv@hillsborova.com

Steve P. Morgart
Vice mayor
540-668-6766
stemorga@aol.com

Linda A. Banks
540-668-7014

Matthew Parse
540-668-6841

Henry Stribling
540-668-6348
stribling@hillsborova.com

Mark Ware
mark@hillsborova.com

Back to top »

Town of Leesburg

Town Hall
25 W. Market St.
Leesburg 20178
703-777-2420
Fax: 703-771-2727
info@leesburgva.gov
clerk@leesburgva.org
http://www.leesburgva.gov

Was Leesburg named after Gen. Robert E. Lee?
No. Leesburg dates to well before Lee's birth. The town was chartered in 1758 and was named after the prominent Lee family, most likely Thomas Lee, who was a Colonial governor of Virginia. Thomas Lee's son, Francis Lightfoot Lee, was the first county lieutenant and a signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Town Council Meetings: Work sessions 7:30 p.m. the second and fourth Mondays of the month; public meetings 7:30 p.m. the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month.

Kristen C. Umstattd
Mayor
umstattd@starpower.net

Susan B. Horne
Vice mayor
shorne@leesburgva.gov

Kelly Burk
kburk@leesburgva.gov

Kathryn Sheldon Hammler
khammler@leesburgva.gov

Fernando Martinez
mmartinez@leesburgva.gov

Kenneth D. Reid
kreid@leesburgva.gov

Kevin D. Wright
kwright@leesburgva.gov

John A. Wells
Town manager
703-771-2700
jwells@leesburgva.gov

Back to top »

Town of Lovettsville

6 E. Pennsylvania Ave.
Lovettsville 20180
540-822-5788
townoflovettsville@adelphia.net
toflovettsville@gmail.com
Lovettsville was originally known as the "German settlement" and developed around the German Reformed Church in the early 1700s.
Town Council Meetings: 8 p.m. the fourth Thursday of the month, except for November and December, when they are held earlier at the council's discretion.

Elaine D. Walker
Mayor
540-822-5788

Robert J. Zoldos II
Vice mayor
540-822-5788

Paul E. Miller
540-822-5788

Richard H. Efthim
540-822-5788

Jim McDonough
540-822-5788

Christopher Treptow
540-822-5788

Samuel A. Finz
Interim town manager
540-822-5788

Back to top »

Town of Middleburg

10 W. Marshall St.
Middleburg 20118
540-687-5152
Fax: 540-687-3804
mburg@middleburg.org
http://www.middleburg.org
Middleburg was founded and named by Revolutionary War hero Leven Powell as the "Middle Burg" between Alexandria and Winchester.
Town Council Meetings:7:30 p.m. the second Thursday of the month. Work session is at 8 a.m. the preceding Monday.

Betsy Davis
Mayor
bdavis@middleburg.org

Darlene Kirk
Vice mayor
dkirk@middleburg.org

Trowbridge Littleton
tlittleton@middleburg.org

Lisa Hubbard Patterson
lisapatterson@middleburg.org

Eura H. Lewis
elewis@middleburg.org

Catherine Murdock
cmurdock@middleburg.org

Karen D. Robinson
Karenrobinson@middleburg.org

Mark T. Snyder
msnyder@middleburg.org

Jerry M. Schiro
Town administrator
townadmin@middleburg.org

Back to top »

Town of Purcellville

130 E. Main St.
Purcellville 20132
540-338-7421
Fax: 540-338-6205
http://www.purcellvilleva.com
The town is named for Valentine Vernon Purcell, who established its first store, Purcell's Store, and post office.
Town Council Meetings:7 p.m. the second Tuesday of the month.

Robert W. Lazaro Jr.
Mayor
blazaro@town.purcellville.va.us

James O. Wiley
jwiley@town.purcellville.va.us

Janet Clarke
jclarke1@town.purcellville.va.us

Steve Varmecky
vum1@comcast.net

Tom Priscilla Jr.
tpriscil@town.purcellville.va.us

Gregory W. Wagner
Vice mayor
gwagner@town.purcellville.va.us

Christopher J. Walker III
cjwalker@town.purcellville.va.us

Robert W. Lohr Jr.
Town manager
rlohr@town.purcellville.va.us

Back to top »

Town of Round Hill

23 Main St.
Round Hill 20142
540-338-7878
Fax: 540-338-1680
info@roundhillva.org
http://www.roundhillva.org
From 1875 to 1896, Round Hill was the western terminus of the Washington & Old Dominion train line. Many of the town's older homes served as inns and boardinghouses, accommodating the annual summer migration from Washington.
Town Council Meetings:8 p.m. first and third Thursdays.

Frank Etro
Mayor
540-338-2928
mayor@roundhillva.org

Mary Anne Graham
Vice mayor
540-338-7738
magraham@roundhillva.org

David A. Ferguson
540-338-3914
daferguson_daferguson@yahoo.com

Carter Morrow
540-751-0600
cmorrow@roundhillva.org

Janet Heston
540-338-5701
jheston@roundhillva.org

John Heyner
540-338-1371
jheyner@roundhillva.org

Scott T. Ramsey
540-338-2269
sramsey@roundhillva.org

Bradley R. Polk
Town administrator
540-338-7878
bpolk@roundhillva.org

Back to top »

State Officials

Timothy M. Kaine (D)
Governor
P.O. Box 1475
Richmond 23218
804-786-2211
www.governor.virginia.gov
Office of the Governor
Patrick Henry Building
1111 E. Broad St., third floor
Richmond 23219

Bill Bolling (R)
Lieutenant governor
P.O. Box 1195
Richmond 23218
804-786-2078
bill.bolling@ltgov.virginia.gov
www.ltgov.virginia.gov
102 Governor St.
Richmond 23219

Robert F. McDonnell (R)
Attorney general
900 E. Main St.
Richmond 23219
804-786-2071
mail@oag.state.va.us
www.oag.state.va.us

Back to top »

Virginia House Delegation

13th District

Robert G. Marshall (R)
P.O. Box 406, Room 704
Richmond 23218
804-698-1013
Fax: 804-786-6310
delbmarshall@house.state.va.us
District office:
P.O. Box 421
Manassas 20108
703-361-5416

18th District

C.L. Athey Jr. (R)
P.O. Box 406, Room 510
Richmond 23218
804-698-1018
Fax: 804-786-6310
delcathey@house.state.va.us
District office:
35 N. Royal Ave.
Front Royal 22630
540-635-2123

31st District

L. Scott Lingamfelter (R)
P.O. Box 406, Room 417
Richmond 23218
804-698-1031
Fax: 804-786-6310
delslingamfelter@house.state.va.us
District office:
5420 Lomax Way
Woodbridge 22193
703-580-1294

32nd District

David E. Poisson (D)
P.O. Box 406, Room 513
Richmond 23218
804-698-1032
Fax: 804-786-6310
deldpoisson@house.state.va.us
david.poisson@adelphia.net
District office:
2 Pidgeon Hill Dr.
Sterling 20165
703-421-6899

33rd District

Joe T. May (R)
P.O. Box 406, Room 504
Richmond 23218
804-698-1033
Fax: 804-786-6310
deljmay@house.state.va.us
District office:
P.O. Box 2146
Leesburg 20177
703-777-1191

67th District

C. Charles Caputo (D)
P.O. Box 406, Room 517
Richmond 23218
804-698-1067
Fax: 804-786-6310
chuck@caputo.com
delccaputo@house.state.va.us
District office:
P.O. Box 222154
Chantilly 20153
703-476-6944

86th District

Thomas Davis Rust (R)
P.O. Box 406, Room 820
Richmond 23218
804-698-1086
Fax: 804-786-6310
deltrust@house.state.va.us
District office:
730 Elden St.
Herndon 20170
703-437-9400

88th District

Mark L. Cole (R)
P.O. Box 406, Room 808
Richmond 23218
804-698-1088
804-786-6310
delmcole@house.state.va.us
District office:
P.O. Box 6046
Fredericksburg 22403
540-752-8200

Back to top »

Virginia Senate Delegation

27th District

H. Russell Potts Jr. (R)
P.O. Box 396
Richmond 23218
804-698-7527
Fax: 804-698-7651.
Constituent hotline: 800-889-0229 (during session only)
district27@sov.state.va.us
District office:
14 N. Braddock St.
Winchester 22601
Phone: 540-665-2092
Fax: 540-665-8399

28th District

John H. Chichester (R)
P.O. Box 396
Richmond 23218
804-698-7528
Fax: 804-698-7651.
Constituent hotline: 800-889-0229 (during session only)
district28@sov.state.va.us
District office:
P.O. Box 904
Fredericksburg 22404
540-373-5600
Fax: 540-373-5624

33rd District

Mark R. Herring (D)
P.O. Box 396
Richmond 23218
804-698-7533
Fax: 804-698-7651.
Constituent hotline: 800-889-0229 (during session only)
district33@sov.state.va.us
District office:
P.O. Box 6246
Leesburg 20178
703-433-0048

Back to top »

U.S. Congress

House of Representatives

1st District
Jo Ann S. Davis (R)
1123 Longworth House Office Building
Washington 20515
202-225-4261
Fax: 202-225-4382
joanndavis.house.gov

10th District
Frank R. Wolf (R)
241 Cannon House Office Building
Washington 20515
202-225-5136
Fax: 202-225-0437
www.house.gov/wolf
Herndon office
13873 Park Center Rd., Suite 130
Herndon 20171
703-709-5800
800-945-9653
Fax: 703-709-5802

Senate

John W. Warner (R)
225 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington 20510
202-224-2023
Fax: 202-224-6295
senator@warner.senate.gov
warner.senate.gov

James Webb (D)
144 Russell Building
Washington 20510
202-224-4024
Fax: 202-228-6363
webb.senate.gov

Back to top »

Judicial System

Courts

Circuit Court of Loudoun County
18 E. Market St.
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0270
Fax: 703-777-0676
http://www.loudoun.gov/circuitcourt
The Circuit Court handles felony criminal cases, civil claims of more than $15,000, divorce cases, and disputes over wills and property. It shares jurisdiction with General District Court for civil suits involving $4,500 to $15,000. It hears appeals from General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court.
Gary M. Clemens
Clerk of the Circuit Court
703-777-0270
http://www.loudoun.gov/clerk/index.html
The clerk of the Circuit Court is elected by voters to an eight-year term. The office issues marriage licenses, probates wills, and accepts deeds and other land records.

Loudoun County General District Court
18 E. Market St.
Second Floor
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0310
703-777-0312
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/gd/Loudoun/home.html
The General District Court tries misdemeanor criminal cases and conducts preliminary hearings for felonies. It also handles most traffic tickets and civil suits of as much as $15,000.
Judith S. Waddell
Clerk of the court
703-777-0310

Loudoun General District Court, Traffic Division
18 E. Market St.
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0312
Fax: 703-771-5284
http://www.loudoun.gov/government/courts.htm#generaldistrictcourt
The court hears cases involving traffic violations for the towns, county, state and Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority police.

Loudoun County Magistrate Court
Office of Magistrate
116-G Edwards Ferry Rd.
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0383
http://www.loudoun.gov/government/magistrate.htm
The court provides an independent review of complaints brought to the office by police officers, sheriffs, deputies and residents. Magistrates are trained to issue search warrants, subpoenas, arrest warrants and summonses, and to set bail. Magistrates may assist the public by providing information on judicial system processes and procedures.

Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court
18 E. Market St.
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0300
The Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court hears cases involving juvenile offenses as well as family-related cases such as child abuse or neglect, spouse abuse, child support, custody disputes and foster care.
Mark V. Crowley
Director
703-777-0303
http://www.loudoun.gov/csu/index.htm
The Loudoun County Juvenile Court Service Unit oversees juvenile complaints and custody, support, visitation and protective orders.

Legal Services

Legal Services of Northern Virginia
109 N. King St.
Leesburg 20176
703-777-7450
Fax: 703-771-7066
http://lawhelp.org/program/1569/
Provides legal advice and representation on civil cases for qualified low-income individuals.

Prosecutors

Loudoun County Commonwealth's Attorney's Office
20 E. Market St.
Leesburg 20176
703-777-0242
http://www.co.loudoun.va.us/depts/commatty.htm
James E. Plowman (R)
Commonwealth's attorney
The commonwealth's attorney serves much the same role as a district attorney or state's attorney in other states. The office prosecutes all felony, misdemeanor and traffic charges brought in the county and oversees the Victim Witness Program. The commonwealth's attorney is elected by voters to a four-year term.

Public Defenders

Leesburg Public Defender Office
3 E. Market St.
Leesburg 20176
703-771-2507
Fax: 703-771-2517
The Leesburg office is responsible for Fauquier, Loudoun and Rappahannock counties.
Warrenton Satellite Office
Bishop Building
16 Horner St.
540-347-6390
Fax: 540-347-6391
Lorie E. O'Donnell
Public defender
703-771-2507
Fax: 703-771-2517

Back to top »


© 2006 The Washington Post Company