washingtonpost.com > Metro > Community Guides

School Board

23160 Moakley St.
Leonardtown 20650
301-475-5511, Ext. 177
boe@smcps.org
www.smcps.org/offices/boe/board/members.shtml
Elected by voters to four-year terms. Elections are in even-number years. Meetings are usually at 9 a.m. the second Wednesday and 6 p.m. the last Wednesday of each month.

Sal Raspa
Chairman
Term expires in 2010.
boe@.smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 177

William M. Mattingly
Vice chairman
Term expires in 2010.
boe@.smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 177

Cathy Allen
Term expires in 2008.
boe@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 177

Gary K. Kessler
Term expires in 2008.
boe@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 177

Mary M. Washington
Term expires in 2008.
boe@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 177

Brittany Thurston
Student member
Elected by students to a one-year term. Thurston is a senior at Leonardtown High School.
boe@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 177

Back to top »

School Officials

St. Mary’s County Public Schools
23160 Moakley St.
Leonardtown 20650
301-475-5511
www.smcps.k12.md.us
Michael J. Martirano
Superintendent
The superintendent is appointed by the Board of Education to a four-year term with approval of the state superintendent of schools. Current term ends in 2009.
mmartirano@smcps.org
301-475-5511

Daniel L. Carney
Chief financial officer
dlcarney@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 172

Linda Dudderar
Chief academic officer
ljdudderar@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 108

Charles E. Ridgell III
Director of cirriculum and instruction
ceridgell@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 110

J. Bradley Clements
Chief operating officer
The Division of Supporting Services includes departments of capital planning, design and construction, food services, maintenance, operations and transportation.
jbclements@smcps.org
301-475-4256, Ext. 7

Kathleen M. Lyon
Executive director, student services
kmlyon@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 198

Marilyn E. Mathes
Director of special education
memathes@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 220

Edward T. Weiland
Director
etweiland@smcps.org
301-475-5511, Ext. 169

Reed A. Walker
Supervisor, transportation
rawalker@smcps.org
301-475-4256, Ext. 2

Back to top »

Higher Education

College of Southern Maryland
St. Mary’s County campus
22950 Hollywood Rd.
Leonardtown 20650
240-725-5300
www.csmd.edu
This accredited community college offers associate degrees and certificates in an array of academic subjects and vocational pursuits. The college has four locations in Southern Maryland.

Southern Maryland Higher
Education Center
44219 Airport Rd.
California 20619
301-737-2500
www.smhec.org
The center offers graduate and upper-division professional degree programs to the workforce of the three-county region. It partners with more than a dozen colleges and universities to present programs for completion of bachelor’s degrees and graduate study.

St. Mary’s College of Maryland
18952 E. Fisher Rd.
St. Mary’s City 20686
240-895-2000
www.smcm.edu
Offering an undergraduate, liberal arts education, St. Mary’s College is part of the Maryland state university and college system. Enrolling about 1,800 students, the school has been designated the Maryland state honors college since 1992.

Back to top »


© 2006 The Washington Post Company