Help
 News Home Page
 Nation
 National Security
 Science
 Courts
 Columns
 Search the States
 Special Reports
    America at War
 Photo Galleries
 Live Online
 Nation Index
 World
 Metro
 Business
 Washtech
 Sports
 Style
 Education
 Travel
 Health
 Home & Garden
 Opinion
 Weather
 Weekly Sections
 News Digest
 Classifieds
 Print Edition
 Archives
 Site Index


America at War: Texts and Transcripts Archive

Following are the texts of key news conferences, speeches and statements covering the aftermath of the terrorist air attacks on the United States.
For full coverage, go to the America at War special report.

Thursday, Dec. 27, 2001
Bin Laden Tape Excerpts

Saturday, Dec. 15, 2001
Bush Weekly Radio Address

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2001
Bin Laden Videotape Transcript

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2001
Bush Commemorates Sept. 11 Attacks

Sunday, Dec. 9, 2001
Cheney on Bin Laden Tape

Saturday, Dec. 8, 2001
Bush Weekly Radio Address

Friday, Dec. 7, 2001
Text of Congressional Letter Urging Action on Iraq
Bush Marks 60th Anniversary of Pearl Harbor

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2001
Text of the Bonn Agreement

Tuesday, Dec. 4, 2001
Bush Freezes Terrorist Assets

Monday, Dec. 3, 2001
Ridge Issues New Terror Alert

Friday, Nov. 30, 2001
Rumsfeld on War in Afghanistan

Thursday, Nov. 29, 2001
Ashcroft on Immigration Incentives
Bush Defends Military Tribunals
Pentagon on Latest War Efforts

Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2001
Rumsfeld, Franks on War
Ashcroft on Terror Probe

Monday, Nov. 26, 2001
Bush Welcomes Freed Aid Workers

Wednesday, Nov. 21, 2001
Bush at Fort Campbell, Ky.
Rumsfeld at Fort Bragg, N.C.

Monday, Nov. 19, 2001
Bush Signs Air-Security Bill
Rumsfeld Briefs Pentagon Press
Powell on Mideast Peace

Saturday, Nov. 17, 2001
Laura Bush Gives Weekly Radio Address

Thursday, Nov. 15, 2001
Rumsfeld, Franks on Bombing Campaign

Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2001
Bush on Rescued Humanitarian Aid Workers

Thursday, Nov. 8, 2001
Bush on Homeland Security

Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2001
Bush Administration Officials on Al Qaeda Crackdown

Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2001
Bush Addresses Warsaw Summit

Saturday, Nov. 3, 2001
Bush Weekly Radio Address
Osama bin Laden Video Address

Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2001
Bush on Economic Stimulus Package

Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2001
Rumsfeld on Troops in Afghanistan
Ridge on Homeland Security
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer

Monday, Oct. 29, 2001
President Bush on Trade and Terrorism
Attorney General John Ashcroft, FBI Director Robert Mueller
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld
Homeland Defense Director Tom Ridge

Sunday, Oct. 28, 2001
Andrew Card and Tom DeLay on Fox News Sunday
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld on ABC This Week
House Minority Leader Richard Gephardt on CBS' Face the Nation Rumsefeld and Sen. John McCain on CNN's 'Late Edition'

Friday, Oct. 26, 2001
President Bush on Retaliation, U.S. Economy
President Bush on Anti-Terror Bill

Thursday, Oct. 25, 2001
President Bush on Pen-Pal Campaign
U.S. Attorney General John Ashcroft
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld
Homeland Security Director Tom Ridge

Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2001
President Bush on Retaliation
Senate Majority Leader Tom Daschle

Tuesday, Oct. 23, 2001
President Bush on Anthrax
Vice President Cheney
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer

Monday, Oct. 22, 2001
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld
Homeland Security Director Tom Ridge

Sunday, Oct. 21, 2001
Colin Powell on Fox News Sunday
General Myers on ABC This Week
Colin Powell on CBS' Face the Nation
Powell, Kissinger and Albright on CNN's 'Late Edition'
Lieberman and McCain on NBC's 'Meet the Press'

Saturday, Oct. 20, 2001
Bush at APEC Forum

Friday, Oct. 19, 2001
Ridge, Thompson, Allbaugh, Satcher on Anthrax
Defense Secretary Rumsfeld at Whiteman AFB

Thursday, Oct. 18, 2001
Cheney at Charity Dinner in New York
Rumsfeld's Pentagon News Conference
Ashcroft on Sentencing of Embassy Bombers
Ridge on Homeland Defense

Wednesday, Oct. 17, 2001
President Bush
Rep. Dennis Hastert
Sen. Thomas Daschle, Sen. Trent Lott, Sen. Bill Frist

Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2001
Attorney General Ashcroft

Monday, Oct. 15, 2001
President Bush
Sen. Thomas Daschle

Sunday, Oct. 14, 2001
Tommy Thompson on Fox News Sunday
Tommy Thompson on ABC This Week
John Ashcroft on NBC's Meet the Press
John Ashcroft on CBS' Face the Nation

Saturday, Oct. 13, 2001
President Bush's Weekly Radio Address

Friday, Oct. 12, 2001
Thompson and Ashcroft on Latest Anthrax Case

Thursday, Oct. 11, 2001
President Bush's Prime Time News Conference
Bush, Rumsfeld at Pentagon Memorial

Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2001
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld
President Bush and German Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer

Monday, Oct. 8, 2001
Attorney General John Ashcroft
President Bush, Homeland Security Director Tom Ridge
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld

Sunday, Oct. 7, 2001
Defense Secretary Rumsfeld and Joint Chiefs Chairman Gen. Richard Myers
Osama bin Laden
British Prime Minister Tony Blair
President Bush Announces Strikes Against Taliban
President Bush Speaks at Memorial Service for Firefighters

Saturday, Oct. 6, 2001
President Bush: Radio Address to the Nation

Thursday, Oct. 4, 2001
President Bush

Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2001
President Bush

Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2001
President Bush
British Prime Minister Tony Blair

Monday, Oct. 1, 2001
President Bush
New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani

Sunday, Sept. 30, 2001
Defense Secretary Rumsfeld on NBC's 'Meet the Press'
Attorney General Ashcroft on CNN's 'Late Edition'
Attorney General Ashcroft on CBS's 'Face the Nation'
White House Chief of Staff Card on 'Fox News Sunday'
Joint Chiefs Chairman Shelton on ABC's 'This Week'

Thursday, Sept. 27, 2001
President Bush Announces Airline Security Measures
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsefeld on New Shootdown Policy, Medals

Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2001
President Bush, CIA Director George Tenet
President Bush Welcomes Muslims to White House
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld

Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2001
President Bush, Japanese Prime Minister Koizumi
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld

Monday, Sept. 24, 2001
President Bush: Freezing Terrorist Assets
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld, HUD Secretary Mel Martinez

Sunday, Sept. 23, 2001
Fox News Sunday with Tony Snow
ABC's "This Week" with Sam Donaldson and Cokie Roberts
CBS's "Face the Nation" with Bob Schieffer
NBC's "Meet the Press" with Tim Russert
CNN's "Late Edition" with Wolf Blitzer

Saturday, Sept. 22, 2001
President Bush: Radio Address to the Nation

Friday, Sept. 21, 2001
New York Mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani
Sens. Thomas Daschle and Trent Lott
Secretary of State Colin L. Powell and Canadian Foreign Minister John Manley
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer
Secretary of State Colin L. Powell and Chinese Foreign Minister Tang Jiaxuan

Thursday, Sept. 20, 2001
President Bush: Address to Congress, the Nation
Sen. Thomas Daschle, Sen. Trent Lott: Response to Bush Address
FBI on the Pentagon Investigation
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsefeld on Military Aircraft Deployment
Justice Officials at Pa. Crash Site
New York City Mayor Rudy Giuliani

Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2001
National Security Adviser Condoleezza Rice
President Bush with members of Congress
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer
Attorney General John Ashcroft
President Bush, Indonsian President Megawati
Pakistani President Musharraf

Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2001
Senate Majority Leader Thomas Daschle
Attorney General John Ashcroft
New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani
U.S. State Dept. Spokesman Richard Boucher
President Bush: Rose Garden
U.S. Secretary of Defense Rumsfeld: Pentagon
U.S. Secretary of State Powell: Washington, D.C.

Monday, Sept. 17, 2001
President Bush: Islamic Center
Virginia Gov. James Gilmore
Attorney General John Ashcroft, FBI Director Robert Mueller
President Bush: Pentagon
U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell
AFL-CIO President John Sweeney

Sunday, Sept. 16, 2001
Vice President Cheney: Meet the Press
U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell: CNN Late Edition
Attorney General John Ashcroft: ABC This Week
U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell: Face the Nation

Saturday, Sept. 15, 2001
President Bush: Weekly radio address

Friday, Sept. 14, 2001
Joint Resolution of Congress approving the use of force
FBI Director Robert Mueller, Attorney General John Ashcroft
Secretary of State Colin Powell
President Bush: National Prayer Service
New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani

Thursday, Sept. 13, 2001
U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell
President Bush
President Bush, New York Gov. George Pataki, New York Mayor Rudolph Giuliani
Former President Bush

Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2001
Attorney General John Ashcroft, FBI Director Robert Mueller
Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld
N.Y. Mayor Rudolph Giuliani
Secretary of State Colin Powell
White House Press Secretary Ari Fleischer

Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001
President Bush: First comments
President Bush: Second comments
President Bush: Prime-time address to the nation
Bush Aide Karen Hughes
Attorney General John Ashcroft
American Airlines
United Airlines

© 2001 The Washington Post Company