Political News

 The Issues
 Federal Page
 Columns - Cartoons
 Live Online
 Online Extras
 Photo Galleries
Where You Live

Enter ZIP code or state abbreviation.



Senate Roll Call: Campaign Finance Reform

Wednesday, March 20, 2002

Following is an alphabetical listing by state of how each senator voted on the campaign finance reform bill. A "yes" vote was a vote to pass the bill. A "no" vote was a vote to defeat it. Voting "yes" were 48 Democrats, 11 Republicans, and 1 independent. Voting "no" were 38 Republicans and 2 Democrats.

Alabama Jeff Sessions (R): No Richard Shelby (R): No
Alaska Frank Murkowski (R): No Ted Stevens (R): No
Arizona Jon Kyl (R): No John McCain (R): Yes
Arkansas Tim Hutchinson (R): No Blanche Lincoln (D): Yes
California Barbara Boxer (D): Yes Dianne Feinstein (D): Yes
Colorado Wayne Allard (R): No Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R): No
Connecticut Christopher Dodd (D): Yes Joseph Lieberman (D): Yes
Delaware Joseph Biden (D): Yes Thomas Carper (D): Yes
Florida Bob Graham (D): Yes Bill Nelson (D): Yes
Georgia Max Cleland (D): Yes Zell Miller (D): Yes
Hawaii Daniel Akaka (D): Yes Daniel Inouye (D): Yes
Idaho Larry Craig (R): No Mike Crapo (R): No
Illinois Richard Durbin (D): Yes Peter Fitzgerald (R): Yes
Indiana Evan Bayh (D): Yes Richard Lugar (R): Yes
Iowa Charles Grassley (R): No Tom Harkin (D): Yes
Kansas Sam Brownback (R): No Pat Roberts (R): No
Kentucky Jim Bunning (R): No Mitch McConnell (R): No
Louisiana John Breaux (D): No Mary Landrieu (D): Yes
Maine Susan Collins (R): Yes Olympia Snowe (R): Yes
Maryland Barbara Mikulski (D): Yes Paul Sarbanes (D): Yes
Massachusetts Edward Kennedy (D): Yes John Kerry (D): Yes
Michigan Debbie Stabenow (D): Yes Carl Levin (D): Yes
Minnesota Mark Dayton (D): Yes Paul Wellstone (D): Yes
Mississippi Thad Cochran (R): Yes Trent Lott (R): No
Missouri Jean Carnahan (D): Yes Christopher (Kit) Bond (R): No
Montana Max Baucus (D): Yes Conrad Burns (R): No
Nebraska Chuck Hagel (R): No Ben Nelson (D): No
Nevada Harry Reid (D): Yes John Ensign (R): No
New Hampshire Judd Gregg (R): No Bob Smith (R): No
New Jersey Jon Corzine (D): Yes Robert Torricelli (D): Yes
New Mexico Jeff Bingaman (D): Yes Pete Domenici (R): Yes
New York Hillary Clinton (D): Yes Charles Schumer (D): Yes
North Carolina John Edwards (D): Yes Jesse Helms (R): No
North Dakota Kent Conrad (D): Yes Byron Dorgan (D): Yes
Ohio Mike DeWine (R): No George Voinovich (R): No
Oklahoma James Inhofe (R): No Don Nickles (R): No
Oregon Gordon Smith (R): No Ron Wyden (D): Yes
Pennsylvania Rick Santorum (R): No Arlen Specter (R): Yes
Rhode Island Lincoln Chafee (R): Yes Jack Reed (D): Yes
South Carolina Ernest "Fritz" Hollings (D): Yes Strom Thurmond (R): No
South Dakota Thomas Daschle (D): Yes Tim Johnson (D): Yes
Tennessee Bill Frist (R): No Fred Thompson (R): Yes
Texas Phil Gramm (R): No Kay Bailey Hutchison (R): No
Utah Robert Bennett (R): No Orrin Hatch (R): No
Vermont James Jeffords (I): Yes Patrick Leahy (D): Yes
Virginia George Allen (R): No John Warner (R): Yes
Washington Maria Cantwell (D): Yes Patty Murray (D): Yes
West Virginia Robert Byrd (D): Yes Jay Rockefeller (D): Yes
Wisconsin Russell Feingold (D): Yes Herb Kohl (D): Yes
Wyoming Mike Enzi (R): No Craig Thomas (R): No

© 2002 The Washington Post Company


Search Options