The Washington Post
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar

Related Items
  • Key Races: Governors
  •   Governors: Incumbents and Open Seats

    Voters in 36 states will go to the polls this fall to choose new governors. Below is the complete list of gubernatorial seats up in 1998, including the 1994 election results for the incumbents running for reelection and the open seats of those who aren't running. In addition, this year's key races are under way.

    Incumbents | Open Seats
    1997 Governors 1995 Governors 1993 Governors
    State Incumbent  '94 Result
    Alabama Fob James Jr. (R) 50%
    Alaska Tony Knowles (D) 41%
    Arizona Jane Dee Hull (R) *
    Arkansas Mike Huckabee (R) **
    Connecticut John G. Rowland (R) 36%
    Hawaii Benjamin Cayetano(D) 37%
    Kansas Bill Graves (R) 64%
    Maine Angus King (Ind.) 35%
    Maryland Parris N. Glendening (D) 50%
    Massachusetts Paul Cellucci (R) ***
    Michigan John Engler (R) 61%
    New Hampshire Jeanne Shaheen (D) 57% 1
    New Mexico Gary Johnson (R) 50%
    New York George E. Pataki (R) 49%
    Oklahoma Frank A. Keating (R) 47%
    Oregon John A. Kitzhaber (D) 51%
    Pennsylvania Tom Ridge (R) 45%
    Rhode Island Lincoln C. Almond (R) 47%
    South Carolina David M. Beasley (R) 50%
    South Dakota William J. Janklow (R) 55%
    Tennessee Don Sundquist (R) 54%
    Texas George W. Bush (R) 53%
    Vermont Howard Dean (D) 71% 2
    Wisconsin Tommy G. Thompson (R) 67%
    Wyoming Jim Geringer (R) 59%

    *Hull replaced J. Fife Symington III (R), who won 1994 election 53-44 percent and resigned in September.

    **Huckabee replaced Jim Guy Tucker (D), who won 1994 election 60-40 percent and resigned in 1996.

    ***Cellucci replaced William F. Weld (R), who won 1994 election 71-28 percent and resigned in July.

    1The governor of New Hampshire serves a two-year term. This result is from 1996.

    2The governor of Vermont serves a two-year term. This result is from 1996.

    Open Seats
    State Incumbent Why Open  '94 Result
    California Pete Wilson (R) Term-limited 55%
    Colorado Roy Romer (D) Term-limited 55%
    Florida Lawton Chiles (D) Term-limited 51%
    Georgia Zell Miller (D) Term-limited 51%
    Idaho Phil Batt (R) Retiring 52%
    Illinois Jim Edgar (R) Retiring 64%
    Iowa Terry E. Branstad (R) Retiring 57%
    Minnesota Arne Carlson (R) Term-limited 62%
    Nebraska Ben Nelson (D) Term-limited 73%
    Nevada Robert J. Miller (D) Term-limited 53%
    Ohio George V. Voinovich (R) Term-limited 72%

    Sources: The Almanac of American Politics, Politics in America 1998, House and Senate librarians, National Governors Association, Hotline.

    © Copyright 1998 The Washington Post Company

    Back to the top

    Navigation Bar
    Navigation Bar