Girls’ Soccer

First Team

Click below and watch the All-Met girls’ soccer team answer two questions about themselves.

Note: Please upgrade your Flash plug-in to view our enhanced content.

Video: Atkinson & Co.; Design and Development:

Pos. Player (Listed in order of apperance) School Yr.
MF Crystal Koczot (Player of the Year)
Good Counsel Sr.
D Taylor Bryant Geo. Visitation Sr.
D Jackie Moriarty O’Connell Sr.
MF Alex Doll Bethesda-CC Jr.
MF Kristen Schmidbauer Glenelg Sr.
MF Kayla Clarke Quince Orchard Sr.
F Julie Ruhe Urbana Sr.
D Kirsten Frank Spalding Sr.
F Maggie Morrison Spalding Jr.
GK Jocelyn McCoy Spalding Jr.
F Pamela Vranis Churchill Sr.
MF Colleen Dinn Holy Cross Sr.

Player of the Decade

MF Christine Nairn, Spalding: A three-time first-team All-Met during high school (2004-07), Nairn finished as the Cavaliers' all-time leader in goals (70). In 2008, she started in the midfield as the youngest member of the U.S. team that won the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup.


Coach of the Year

Rob Kurtz, Bethesda-Chevy: Chase Though Bethesda-Chevy Chase made the jump from 3A to 4A this season, Kurtz and the Barons didn't miss a beat, winning their second consecutive state championship and finishing the season 18-1. B-CC is 49-2 over the past three seasons.

Second Team

Pos. Player School Yr.
GK  Lyndse Hokanson  South River  Sr.
D  Taelar Errington  Leonardtown  Sr.
D  Lisa Gonzalez  O’Connell  Sr.
D  Olivia Tomoff  Spalding  Sr.
MF  Vic Gersh B-CC  Jr.
MF  Amie Ruhe  Urbana  Sr.
MF  Allison Yeager  Wootton  Sr.
F Courtney Hoyes  Spalding  Sr.
F  Kerry Mueller  Good Counsel  Jr.
F Aaran Parry  Tuscarora  Fr.
F  Margaret Purce  Good Counsel  Fr.

Honorable Mention


Kim Anderson, O'Connell, Sr.; Leslie Galfond, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Churchill O'Connell, Potomac School, Sr.; Teresa Rubinger, Georgetown Visitation, Sr.


Ellen Axenfeld, Glenelg, Sr.; Rachel Ing, National Cathedral, Sr.; Hope LaHayne, Glenelg, Sr.; Rachel Marincola, Churchill, Jr.; Sammie Norman, Broadneck, Sr.; Chaucia Sydnor, Walter Johnson, Sr.; Alex Tierney, Patuxent, Sr.


Jackie Henehan, Pallotti, Sr.; Alysse Houston, St. Mary's Ryken, Sr.; Janice Johnson, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.; Sydney Keer, Arundel, Sr.; Spencer Larson, South River, Sr.; Yvonne Latour, Quince Orchard, Sr.; Campbell Millar, Potomac School, Jr.; Gabby Moreno, Severna Park, So.; Alexis Prada, Good Counsel, Jr.; Marlo Sweatman, Flint Hill, Fr.; Amy Triscoli, River Hill, Sr.; Deja Walker, St. John's, Sr.


Rebecca Hemby, Thomas Johnson, Sr.; Cali Hutson, Paul VI, Fr.; Jamie Kator, Blair, Soph.; Owyn Manson, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.; Teresa Paz, Leonardtown, Sr.; Johanna Rambo, Leonardtown, Sr.; Kelsey Reiff, Reservoir, Sr.; Morgan Reuther, O'Connell, Fr.; Maddie Simms, Bowie, Jr.; Kim Tilton, Flint Hill, Sr.; Casey Vornadore, Paul VI, Sr.

© The Washington Post Company