The Washington Post
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar

Related Items
 1999 Indy 500
  • Race preview
  • Lineup
  • Driver profiles

    Indy History

  • Winners
  • Multiple winners
  • Facts and figures
  • Driver deaths
  • Top rookies
  • Indy Speedway milestones
  • Eddie Cheever won the 1998 Indianapolis 500.

    On Our Site

  • Current standings
  • 1999 results
  • IRL schedule
  • Indy 500 Section
  • Auto Racing Section

  •   Indianapolis 500 Driver Deaths

    Drivers killed during race (15)
    1909--William Bourque, Springfield, Massachusetts
    1919--Louis LeCocq, France
          Arthur Thurman, Washington, D.C.
    1929--Bill Spence, Los Angeles
    1933--Mark Billman, Indianapolis
          Lester Spangler, Los Angeles
    1935--Clay Weatherly, Cincinnati
    1939--Floyd Roberts, Van Nuys, California
    1947--Shorty Cantlon, Indianapolis
    1953--Carl Scarborough, Clarkston, Michigan
    1955--Bill Vukovich Sr., Fresno, California
    1958--Pat O'Connor, North Vernon, Indiana
    1964--Eddie Sachs, Detroit 
          Dave MacDonald, El Monte, California
    1973--Swede Savage, Santa Ana, California

    Drivers killed in practice or qualifying (25) --------------------------------------------- 1910--Tony Kincaid 1911--Harry Martin 1926--Herbert Jones, Indianapolis 1931--Joe Caccida, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania 1932--Milton Jones, Cleveland William Denver, Audubon, Pennsylvania 1934--Peter Kreis, Knoxville, Tennessee 1935--Johnny Hannon, Morristown, Pennsylvania Stubby Stubblefield, Los Angeles 1940--George Bailey, Indianapolis 1948--Ralph Hepburn, Van Nuys, California 1949--George Metzler, Indianapolis 1953--Chet Miller, Glendale, California 1955--Manuel Ayulo, Burbank, California 1957--Keith Andrews, Colorado Springs, Colorado 1959--Jerry Unser, Long Beach, California Bob Cortner, Redlands, California 1961--Tony Bettenhausen Sr., Tinley Park, Illinois 1966--Chuck Rodee, Indianapolis 1968--Mike Spence, Maidenhead, England 1972--Jim Malloy, Denver 1973--Art Pollard, Medford, Oregon 1982--Gordon Smiley, Grapevine, Texas 1992--Jovy Marcelo, Philippines 1996--Scott Brayton, Coldwater, Michigan

    © Copyright 1999

    Back to the top

    Navigation Bar
    Navigation Bar
    WP Yellow Pages