2011-12 Winter All-Met

Boys' swimming

Cory Bowersox

Robinson / Sr.

Two-time All-Met won his third Va. AAA diving title, besting his own state record with 551.00 points. Will dive for Texas.

Brandon Fiala

Westfield / Jr.

Placed second in 200 IM at Va. AAA meet (1:51.57), finishing under the previous record in automatic all-American time.

Cyrus Hashemi

Marshall / Sr.

Two-time All-Met set pair of Va. AAA records in 200 (1:39.83) and 100 free (45.39). Will swim for UNC Wilmington. Video

Philip Hu

Oakton / Jr.

Led Oakton to Va. AAA Northern Region title, placing second in 100 back in an all-American consideration time of 50.78.

Ryan Natal

Langley / Sr.

Second at Va. AAA Northern Region meet in 100 fly in all-American consideration time (50.47). Will swim for William & Mary.

Garrett Powell

Walter Johnson / Sr.

Set Metros record in 200 free (1:38.38). Recorded a high school top-15 time in history in 500 free (4:20.04). Will swim for Georgia.

Andrew Seliskar

Jefferson / Fr.

Set Va. AAA records in the 200 IM (1:49.83) and 100 fly (49.64) in a pair of automatic all-American times, as team finished third.

Stephen Seliskar

Jefferson / Sr.

Broke 12-year-old Va. AAA record in 100 back (50.08). Finished third in 50 free (21.41) at state meet. Will swim for Purdue.

Sean Sullivan

Gonzaga / Sr.

Led Eagles to Metros scoring record by winning 100 free (45.23) in meet-record time. Will swim for North Carolina.

Carsten Vissering

Georgetown Prep / Fr.

Won Metros in 100 breaststroke in 56.99, the area’s best time and an automatic all-American time.

Jamie Grimes

Coach of the year, Walter Johnson

In his ninth year at the helm, Grimes led the Wildcats to a Maryland 4A/3A title in their first appearance at the state championship meet. Walter Johnson also finished fourth at the Washington Metropolitan Interscholastic Swimming & Diving Championships — the top finish among public schools, and the Wildcats’ highest finish since 2007.

Player bios by Bryan Flaherty - The Washington Post. Photos by Jonathan Newton/The Washington Post.
Published April 5, 2012.