Field Hockey

GK Sarah Bates

Glenelg Country / Sr.

Allowed nine goals on 122 shots for 92.6 save percentage. A four-year starter, she posted 33 career shutouts.

D Taylor Bresnahan

South River / Sr.

Had five defensive saves for Md. 4A champions and added seven goals and five assists. Will play lacrosse for Florida.

D Maeve Doherty

Severna Park / Jr.

Key defender for Falcons team that allowed 13 goals in 16 games. Junior Olympian is a top recruit for the class of 2014.

MF Marissa Balleza

Severna Park / Sr.

Repeat All-Met and Futures Elite player scored 11 goals and was a two-way star. Will play for Harvard.

MF Maria-Jose Pastor

Lake Braddock / Sr.

The only Futures Elite selection from Northern Virginia had 10 goals and nine assists. Will play for William & Mary.

MF Morgan Philie

Glenelg / Jr.

Scored 17 goals and 13 assists to lead Gladiators to third straight Md. 2A title. Has never lost a Howard County game.

MF Anna Rowthorn-Apel

Walter Johnson / Jr.

Scored 24 goals to go with 12 assists as Wildcats won first region title since 2001. Scored three game-winning goals in overtime.

MF Idrienne Walker

Bullis / Sr.

Posted 19 goals and 11 assists to lead Bulldogs to first regular season ISL title in school history. Will play for Drexel.

F Abbey Lawrence

South River / Sr.

Scored 24 goals and 16 assists, including 10 goals and five assists in playoffs for Maryland 4A champs. Will play for La Salle.

F Kat Varga

River Hill / Sr.

Led area Md. players with 28 goals and had 12 assists in 16 games. Two-time National Futures player will play for Cornell.

F Caroline Wannen

Blake / Sr.

Scored 20 goals and 16 assists for Md. 4A South champs, including seven goals in playoffs. Will play lacrosse for Maryland.

Coach of the Year Ginger Kincaid


Led the Gladiators to their third consecutive Maryland 2A championship this season despite losing two-time All-Met Player of the Year Alyssa Parker and first-team All-Met Mary Kate Olson to graduation. Finished 17-1 and undefeated in Howard County for the fifth consecutive year. In 36 seasons as coach, she has a 366-145 record.