2012 Spring All-Met

Boys' Lacrosse

G Alex Joyce

Landon / Sr.

Stopped 67 percent of shots faced with two shutouts in leading the Bears to an IAC title. Will play for Georgetown.

D Curt Brooks

Wootton / Sr.

Physical stopper led Patriots in groundballs. Transition threat with eight goals and six assists. Will play for Georgetown.

D Nick Fields

Bullis / Jr.

6-foot-3 Johns Hopkins recruit led IAC finalist Bulldogs in caused turnovers and groundballs.

D Luke Miller

Gonzaga / Sr.

Hobart recruit matched up with many of the area’s top attackers, anchoring a defense that ceded about four goals per game.

MF Brent Armstrong

St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes / Sr.

Tallied 48 goals and 30 assists for VISAA-champion Saints. Member of U-19 national team. Will play for North Carolina.

MF Hank Brown

Landon / Sr.

Made an impact at both ends for Bears. Led IAC champion in points with 26 goals and 14 assists. Will play for Drexel. VIDEO

MF Nick Mazza

Calverton / Jr.

Penn State recruit paced a dynamic offense with 55 goals, helping Cougars to MILL title and school-record 17 wins.

A Sean Ahearn

Langley / Sr.

Three-time state champion led Saxons’ precision attack with 57 goals, 39 assists. Will play for Lynchburg.

A Kylor Bellistri

Bullis / Sr.

Known as one of area’s top leaders and toughest around the net. Had 40 goals and 18 assists. Will play for Brown. VIDEO

A Ben Chisolm

South River / Jr.

Maryland recruit had 63 goals and seven assists to help the Seahawks finish 20-0 and win the Maryland 4A/3A title.

A Liam Giblin

Georgetown Prep / Sr.

Gifted distributor had 20 goals and 41 assists this season, finishing with 166 career points. Will play for Johns Hopkins.

Coach of the year: Paul Noone

South River

The fifth-year coach guided the Seahawks to the area's only perfect boys' lacrosse season this spring. They went 20-0 en route to Anne Arundel County and Maryland 4A/3A titles. In the state final, South River erased a seven-goal deficit against Westminster, storming back for a 10-8 victory. Noone, who has an 80-12 career record, also led the team to its first state title in 2009.

Player bios by Matt Brooks and Eric Detweiler - The Washington Post. Photos by Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post.
Published June 10, 2012.