2012 Spring All-Met

Girls' Lacrosse

G Genevieve Giblin

Georgetown Visitation / Sr.

Played every minute of every game in leading the Cubs to 20 wins and the ISL-AA title this season. Will play for St. Joseph's. VIDEO

D Paige Patterson

St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes / Sr.

Anchored a star-studded defense that allowed five goals per game. Under Armour all-American will play for North Carolina.

D Anne Zabel

Marriotts Ridge / Sr.

Shutdown defender picked up 20 groundballs and caused 18 turnovers, pacing a dominant unit. Will play for UMBC.

MF Tess McEvoy

Georgetown Visitation / Jr.

Sparked the ISL-AA champion with her quickness, finishing with 64 goals and 16 assists. Orally committed to Yale.

MF Caroline Peters

Good Counsel / Jr.

Aggressive two-way Vanderbilt recruit earned WCAC player of the year honors after posting 48 goals and 16 assists.

MF Michele Phillips

St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes / Sr.

Repeat All-Met did it all, finishing her career with 239 goals, 137 assists and 225 draw controls. Will play for Notre Dame. VIDEO

MF Zoe Stukenberg

Marriotts Ridge / Jr.

Relentless at both ends, the Maryland recruit had 67 goals, 27 assists and 48 draw controls for the Howard County champs.

MF Morgan Torggler

Severna Park / Jr.

Directed one of area's top offenses to the Maryland 4A/3A title. The Maryland recruit finished with 75 goals and 21 assists.

A/MF Monica Lucas

Holy Cross / Sr.

Versatile threat finished with 75 goals and 44 assists and led Tartans to WCAC tournament title. Will play for Denver.

A Kendall Garden

Spalding / Sr.

Tallied 43 goals and 11 assists with a seven-point IAAM-A playoff game. The all-conference pick will play for Lehigh.

A Carly Palmucci

Oakton / Sr.

Catalyst for Northern Region's most potent offense had 46 goals, 55 assists. Will play for Connecticut. VIDEO

Coach of the year: Jenna Ries

Holy Cross

In her third season at the Kensington school, Ries guided Holy Cross to 15 wins and the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference title. The Tartans beat rival Good Counsel, 9-4, in the WCAC final on May 16 to end the Falcons' 90-game conference winning streak. Also a longtime area field hockey coach, she earned All-Met Coach of the Year honors in that sport in 2001.

Player bios by Matt Brooks and Eric Detweiler - The Washington Post. Photos by Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post.
Published June 10, 2012.