2010 Fall All-Met: Boys' cross-country

John McGowan

Sidwell Friends / Sr.

McGowan became the first D.C. resident ever to qualify for Foot Locker Finals after he placed fifth in the Northeast Region in 15 minutes 46 seconds. He had success in New York previously when he won his 4K race at the Manhattan Invitational in October in 12:39.83, the fastest time by an area performer. McGowan also breezed to his third straight Mid-Atlantic Conference title and won the D.C./Maryland private schools championship in 15:19, a course record.

Ahmed Bile

Annandale / Jr.

Won the Virginia AAA Northern Region crown before capturing the state title and taking fourth at Foot Locker South in 15:02.

Tommy Curtin

Loudoun County / Sr.

Virginia AA Dulles District and Region II champion was third at states. He was 19th at Foot Locker South in a personal-best 15:22.

Collin Leibold

Gonzaga / Sr.

Great Meadow winner also captured the WCAC title before finishing third at states and fourth at the Jesuit championships.

Sean McGorty

Chantilly / So.

Won the Virginia AAA Concorde District title, was runner-up in the Northern Region and was fourth at the state meet.

Chris Miller

Northwest / Sr.

Captured the Maryland 4A championship after winning the Montgomery County title and taking fourth in the Maryland 4A West.

Nicholas Regan

Walter Johnson / Sr.

Was third in Montgomery County before placing second at Maryland 4A West and the state championships.

Alex Willett

Walter Johnson / Sr.

Montgomery County runner-up took his division of the Manhattan Invitational before winning the Maryland 4A West.

COACHES OF THE YEAR Sean Leyh and Michael Porter

Colonial Forge

After competing for Colonial Forge under former coach Tori Arther, Porter and Leyh returned three years ago to take over the reins of the program. This season they guided the Eagles to the Virginia AAA Commonwealth District title, to second place in a highly competitive Northwest Region and another runner-up finish at the state championship.

Second team

Player School Yr.
Braden Bruning Linganore Jr.
Robby Creese Glenelg Sr.
Paul Gates W.T. Woodson Jr.
Ryan O'Connor Northern Sr.
Sam Rubenking Lake Braddock Sr.
Kyle Tockman Sherwood Sr.
Abraham Yacob Lee Sr.

Honorable mention

Justin Ahalt, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.; J.B. Adams, St. Albans, Sr.; Greg Bohmke, Stafford, Jr.; Juan Campos, Potomac Falls, Sr.; Will Conway, Churchill, Jr.; Mike Crozier, Gonzaga, Jr.; Paul Gates, W.T. Woodson, Jr.; Simon Gigli, Wilson, Jr.; Thorpe Lichtenberg, Freedom-South Riding, Jr.; Jordanis Lozier, Colonial Forge, Sr.; Jimmy Luehrs, Herndon, Sr.; Sam Martin, Richard Montgomery, Sr.; Reid Nickle, Episcopal, Sr.; Tyler Oliver, Stafford, Sr.; Shane O'Donnell, Annapolis, Sr.; Brian O'Loughlin, Colonial Forge, Jr.; David Pennesi, Colonial Forge, Jr.; Jonathan Phillips, Jefferson, Sr.; Jackson Reams, Sherwood, Sr.; Jack Riely, Good Counsel, Jr.; Conor Spaulding, Quince Orchard, Sr.; Colin Taylor, West Springfield, Jr.; Cody Vernon, Old Mill, Sr.; Zach Weinstein, Churchill, Jr.

Team selected by The Post's Carl Little | Photos by Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post

© The Washington Post Company