2010 Fall All-Met: Volleyball

OH/S Tori Janowski

Flint Hill / Senior

A two-time player of the year, Janowski's production and versatility as a setter, outside hitter and right-side hitter helped propel the Huskies to a program-best 33-0 season. Armed with a lethal jump serve, explosive kills and precise sets, Janowski's presence on the court galvanized her team each of the past two seasons as Flint Hill posted a combined 64-2 record and claimed back-to-back Independent School League regular season and tournament championships, City Championships and Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association state titles. Janowski, who will play for Virginia, totaled 270 kills, 364 assists, 84 aces and 139 total blocks this fall.

OH Christine Beckham

Stone Bridge / Sr.

Tallied 343 kills, 228 digs and 60 aces to lead Bulldogs (28-2) to the Northern Region title and their first Virginia AAA final.

OH Samantha Brostrom

Centennial / Sr.

Three-time All-Met had 206 kills, 167 digs and 41 aces en route to the Eagles' 15th state title appearance. Will play for SUNY-Albany.

OH Meagan Donohoe

Good Counsel / Sr.

Offensive force and WCAC player of the year guided the Falcons to a conference crown with 420 kills.

OH Alex Holston

Sherwood / So.

Multi-talented player had team highs in kills (304) and blocks (65) as Warriors (19-0) won Maryland 4A title.

OH Susie Murach

Robinson / Sr.

Two-time Northern Region player of the year had 408 kills, 83 aces for Concorde District champions. Two-time All-Met will play for Wingate.

OH Marilyn Peizer

Flint Hill / Sr.

Three-time all-state hitter had 350 kills, 260 digs and 66 aces to help lead Huskies to a 33-0 season. Will play for Fairfield.

MB Simone Antwi

South County / Sr.

Powerful hitter piled up 462 kills, 141 blocks, 51 aces and a .583 kill percentage to lead the Stallions. Will play for Florida.

L Paige Sekerak

Poolesville / Sr.

Relentless defender moved to hitter this season for 18-1 Falcons but still led team in digs (189) and kills (178). Will play libero for Towson.

COACH OF THE YEAR Jenica Matthias

Loudoun County

Led the Raiders to a 28-1 record and an unprecedented fourth consecutive Virginia AA championship. Over the past four years, the ninth-year coach has compiled a 110-5 record including five consecutive region titles and regular season Dulles District championships. Despite losing top players every year, the Raiders remain dominant. Including this year's team, Matthias has sent 14 players on to play in college.

Second team

Pos. Player School Yr.
OH Bre Atkinson Madeira Jr.
OH Kathryn Caine Langley Sr.
OH Sarah Okey River Hill Sr.
OH Jenna Strange Loudoun County Jr.
OH Sammi Swann Northern Sr.
RS-OH Liz Brown Centennial Sr.
S Amanda Miller Stone Bridge Sr.
S Stephanie Yokoyama Heritage Jr.

Honorable mention

Hitters: Lian Bernett, Heritage, Sr.; Carli Converse, Severna Park, Sr.; Brytni Crist, Springbrook, Sr.; Claire Crutchfield, O'Connell, So.; Lauren Dietrich, Kettle Run, Sr.; Darian Dozier, St. John's, Jr.; Maeve Drummey, Good Counsel, Sr.; Taylor Gallart, Holy Cross, So.; Molly Hirrlinger, Magruder, Sr.; Katrina Houston, North Stafford, Jr.; Meagan Lagerlef, Blake, Sr.; Mary Lavery, La Plata, Jr.; Brooke Kelley, Colonial Forge, Sr.; Jessica Kolden, Hayfield, Sr.; Taylor Maddox, Loudoun Valley, Sr.; Aricquel Payne, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Lauren Rocco, Poolesville, Sr.; Megan Rosburg, River Hill, Sr.; Emily Sears, Broad Run, Sr.; Alexis Skinner, Thomas Johnson, Sr.; Lindsay Tapley, Arundel, Jr.; Claire Tucker, Maryland School for the Deaf, Sr.

Middle blockers: Jenna Flanigin, Freedom-South Riding, Sr.; Christy Harper, Chantilly, Sr.; Melody Nazari, River Hill, Sr.; Sarah Jones, Forest Park, Sr.; Ashley Rock, Yorktown, Jr.

Setters: Alli Graf, Broadneck, Jr.; Tamara Leslie, C.H. Flowers, Sr.; Chandler Mass, Northern, Sr.; Nikki McMillan, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Kyra Rodi, Lake Braddock, Sr.

Liberos: Amy Christensen, Stone Bridge, Sr.; MacKenzie Cockerill, Gaithersburg, Jr.; Stephanie Minite, Good Counsel, Sr.; Jacquie Palaschak, W.T. Woodson, Sr.; Alyssa Sanchez, Osbourn Park, Jr.; Gabby Serafin, Loudoun County, Jr.; Karalee Thomas, Oakton, Jr.; Jessica Turner, Wilde Lake, Sr.

Team selected by The Post's Matt Brooks and James Wagner | Photos by Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post

© The Washington Post Company