Beyer Speed Figures

The Beyer Speed Figure is a rating assigned to every race run by every horse in the United States and is incorporated in the Daily Racing Form past performances. It takes into account the time of a horse's performance and the inherent speed of the racing surface. Figures can range from the upper-120s for superstars to single digits for thoroughbreds at the bottom of the class ladder.

I'll Have Another brings the best Beyer Speed Figure into the Belmont Stakes -- the 109 he earned in winning the Preakness. A performance that fast would have been good enough to win the Belmont in any of the last eight years.

The average winning figure for the last 10 runnings of the Belmont is 102; from 1992 through 2001, the average was 107. The decline is due in part to the sub-par 3-year-old crops in recent years, and also to the fact that fewer U.S. thoroughbreds possess pedigrees suited to the 1 1/2-mile distance.

Year Horse BSF
2011 Ruler On Ice 100
2010 Drosselmeyer 94
2009 Summer Bird 100
2008 Da' Tara 99
2007 Rags to Riches 107
2006 Jazil 102
2005 Afleet Alex 106
2004 Birdstone 101
2003 Empire Maker 110
2002 Sarava 105
2001 Point Given 114
2000 Commendable 101
1999 Lemon Drop Kid 109
1998 Victory Gallop 110
1997 Touch Gold 110
1996 Editor's Note 106
1995 Thunder Gulch 101
1994 Tabasco Cat 106
1993 Colonial Affair 104
1992 A. P. Indy 111

By Andrew Beyer - The Washington Post. Published June 6, 2012.