The Washington Post
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar

Related Items
 More information on every area high school is available in our Schools Directory.

High School Track Section

  1998-99 All-Met Boys Indoor Track Team

  • Player of the Year
  • Coach of the Year

  • First Team
  • Honorable Mention

  • 1997-98 All-Met Indoor Track Team

    Front row, back to front: Kelley Otstott, Jefferson; Liz Awtrey, Robinson; Lee McDuff, River Hill. Middle: Casey Reardon, West Potomac; Sharon O'Connor, Mount Vernon; Victor Thillet, Old Mill. Back: Antonio Gray, Ballou, Alan Webb, South Lakes.

    1997-98 All-Met Indoor Track Team

    Front row, back to front:Alyssa Aiken, Chantilly; Faith Rein, Centreville; Jessica DeFreitas, Eleanor Roosevelt. Middle: Michael Newell, Potomac (Va.); Dwayne Vaughan, DuVal; Sheena Johnson, Gar-Field. Back: Kyle Farmer, Oakland Mills; Dante Myles, Carroll; Rickey Harris, Centreville. Missing: Dwight Thomas, High Point.

    1997-98 All-Met Indoor Track Team

    Front row, back to front:Adrian Nelson, Carroll; Tianna Goldring, La Plata, KC Allen, Calvert. Middle: Carla Franklin, Laurel; Tony Pesce, Atholton; Yolanda Thompson, West Potomac. Back: Nick Welihozkiy, West Springfield; Allen Simms, Eleanor Roosevelt, Donisha Freeman, Mount Vernon.

    Athlete of the Year
    Rickey Harris
    Centreville High School

  • Junior. Repeat All-Met.
  • Won 60-meter hurdles at Nike Indoor Classic.
  • Virginia AAA champion in 300 meters and 55 hurdles.

    Coach of the Year
    Bill Stearns
    Potomac (Va.) High School

  • Led Panthers to first-ever Virginia AAA indoor track title.
  • Also guided Panthers to Cardinal District and Northwestern Region indoor titles.


    Kyle Farmer Oakland Mills Soph.
    Repeat All-Met. Won 55 and 300 at Maryland 2A/1A state championships, anchored winning 4x200 and 4x400 relays.

    Antonio Gray Ballou Sr.
    DCIAA champion in 500 and 1,000. Area's top times in 500 (1:03.58) and 800 (1:56.77).

    Dante Myles Carroll Sr.
    Repeat All-Met. Third at Nike Indoor Classic in 60 meters (6.86). Second in 55 at Eastern State championships.

    Adrian Nelson Carroll Sr.
    Won high jump at Eastern State championships (6-6). Tied for area's best high jump (6-8).

    Michael Newell Potomac Sr.
    Seven-time All-Met. Won Virginia AAA long jump title for fourth year in a row. Finished first in 55 meters.

    Tony Pesce Atholton Sr.
    Set Howard County pole vault record (14-7½). Maryland 2A/1A pole vault champion.

    Casey Reardon West Potomac Jr.
    Virginia AAA champion and Virginia Tech Invitational champion in 1,000. Area's top time in 1,000 (2:31.12).

    Allen Simms Eleanor Roosevelt Jr.
    National Scholastic champion in triple jump with area-best mark of 47-6 ½.

    Victor Thillet Old Mill Jr.
    Maryland 3A/2A champion in 1,600. Had area's top time in 1,500 (4:15.1).

    Dwight Thomas High Point Jr.
    National Scholastic champion in 200. Maryland 4A/3A champion in 55 and 55 hurdles.

    Dwayne Vaughan DuVal Sr.
    Won 55 and tied for first in 300 at Maryland 3A/2A championships. Helped Tigers boys team win state title.

    Alan Webb South Lakes Soph.
    Repeat All-Met. Virginia AAA champion in 1,600 and 3,200. Finished second in the mile at Nike Indoor Classic.

    Nick Welihozkiy West Springfield Sr.
    Repeat All-Met. Virginia AAA champion in shot put. Placed second at National Scholastic meet with area-best throw of 59-1½.

    Honorable Mention

    Sprints/Hurdles: Phil Acosta, Potomac (Va.); Unyime Akpan, Ballou; Curtis Alderman, DuVal; Garrick Copes, Hayfield; Jeff Foy, Potomac (Va.); James Graham, Northwestern; Jeremy Grissette, High Point; Jesse Henderson, Quince Orchard; Derrick Hill, Surrattsville; Jose Morales, Good Counsel; Blake Pearson, DeMatha; Delante Penn-Andrews, Eastern; Michael Rolland, Broadneck; Robert Wingate-Robinson, Northwestern; Andre Thompson, Coolidge; Jerod Void, Surrattsville; Adrian Washington, DeMatha.

    Middle Distance/Distance: Chris Feist, Hylton; Jacob Frey, Oakton; David Glynn, Walter Johnson; Stephen Hayes, Churchill; Carlos Hunt, Westlake; Ricardo Iracks, Ballou; Tom Jakub, Paul VI; Phil Knowlton, Whitman; Jason Lewis, Potomac (Va.); Andrew Macleod, Oakton; Ben Morris, Annapolis; Billy Moore, Chantilly; Ali Najjar, Northwestern; Matias Palavecino, Watkins Mill; James Small, McLean; Dan Sweeney, Gonzaga.

    Field events: Philip Agee, Brooke Point; Ricardo Alexander, H.D. Woodson; Tim Bilmanis, Thomas Stone; Terrence Brown, Patuxent; Brendan Callahan, Langley; Douglas Campbell, Eastern; Ickey Chuku, Largo; Paul Comas, Annapolis; Robert Freeman, Lee; Rico Lloyd, Potomac (Va.); Oni Onwuemene, Good Counsel; Jose Portillo, Marshall; Jerry Puryear, Mount Vernon; Richard Richardson, Suitland; Brandon Royster, Fairfax; John Rydezewski, Gaithersburg; Gus Schmader, Chantilly; Chris Stark, Springbrook; Barnabus Svalina, O'Connell; Sean Washington, St. Stephen's/SA; Jermaine Youmans, Dunbar.

    © Copyright 1999 The Washington Post Company

    Back to the top

    sport by sport | school directory | statistics | history

  • Navigation Bar
    Navigation Bar
    WP Yellow Pages