NewsSport by SportSchool DirectoryStatisticsHistoryHigh School Sports FrontSports Front

1997 Cross-Country All-Met Team

1997 Fall All-Met Cross-Country Teams
The 1997 All-Met boys and girls cross-country teams, at the Jefferson Memorial, displayed monumental ability this fall. In front, left to right: Jennifer Modliszewski, Hanna Benjami, Devon Moore and Kelley Otstott. Second row: Liz Awtrey, Laura Heiner, Sarah Folse and Suzy McColloch. Third row: Boys Coach of the Year Joseph Huddle, Thad Minshall, Alan Webb, Brad Einboden and Girls Coach of the Year Ronald Jenkins. In back: Amlesom Teklal, Jarrett Van Tine, Patrick Conway, David Glynn and Patrick Helland.

Runners of the Year
Boys Coach of the Year
Girls Coach of the Year
Season Highlights
First Team
Second Team
Honorable Mentions
How the Selections Were Made

Runners of the Year

Runners of the Year
Brad Einboden,
St. Mary's-Ryken
Laura Heiner, Centerville

Brad Einboden, St. Mary's-Ryken
  • Senior, Repeat All-Met
  • Set seven course records in 11 races
  • SMAC Champion and finished first in the Eastern Stakes Championships, Spiked Shoe Invitational, Va. Tech Invitational and Pallotti Invitational

    Laura Heiner, Centerville

  • Senior, repeat All-Met Runner of the Year
  • Won second consecutive Foot Locker South Region title
  • Captured second straight Va. AAA title
  • Undefeated this season in all individual races

  • Joseph Huddle Boys Coach of the Year

    Joseph Huddle, Central (Va.)

  • Directed Falcons to fifth straight Virginia A championship
  • Overall record of 267-1 in that span against Group A schools
  • Virginia Coaches Association Coach of the Year

  • Ronald Jenkins Girls Coach of the Year

    Ronald Jenkins, Wilson

  • Repeat Coach of the Year (1990)
  • Directed Wilson to undefeated season in DCIAA and captured third DCIAA title in the past five years



  • Laura Heiner repeated as Virginia AAA champion and as Foot Locker South Region winner.

  • Devon Moore won her second straight Virginia A title, helping Brentsville win its third team title.

  • Njetil Lowe of Poolesville won Maryland 1A title in her first season of cross-country.

  • Liberty's All-Met Jennifer Modliszewski won her first Virginia AA title by more than a minute.

  • H.D. Woodson's Jessica Jennings won the DCIAA championships over previously undefeated Martha Buckley of Wilson.


  • Walter Johnson's David Glynn, brother of former four-time Maryland state champion Sally, won his first state championship.

  • Ernest Reynolds of H. D. Woodson bounced back from his only loss of the season to win the DCIAA title.

  • Freshman Alan Webb of South Lakes placed higher than any other freshman boy ever in the Virginia AAA state meet, finishing second.

  • Coach Joseph Huddle of Central-Woodstock led his team to its fifth straight Virginia A title.

  • West Springfield's Pat Conway won the Virginia AAA title despite running with a broken toe.

    Boys First Team

    Patrick Conway, West Springfield
    Virginia AAA champion despite broken toe. Won Patriot District title.

    David Glynn, Walter Johnson
    Maryland Class 3A champion and 3A West Region winner.

    Patrick Helland, Paul VI
    Won championships at Virginia State Catholic, Virginia Independent Schools and WCAC meets.

    Thad Minshall, Landon
    Undefeated in dual meets. IAC champion and won Pallotti small school race.

    Amleson Teklai, West Potomac
    First at Burke Lake, Bull Run and Penn State invitationals.

    Jarrett Van Tine, Bethesda-CC
    Maryland 2A champion. First in Montgomery County meet.

    Alan Webb, South Lakes
    Highest-placing boy runner at Virginia AAA championships with second-place finish.

    Girls First Team

    Liz Awtrey, Robinson
    Repeat All-Met. Virginia AAA Patriot District champion and Virginia Tech Invitational winner.

    Hannah Benjamin, Damascus
    Montgomery County champion and runner-up at the Maryland 3A championship.

    Sarah Folse, Chancellor
    Virginia AAA Northwestern Region and Commonwealth District champion. State runner-up.

    Suzy McCulloch, Centennial
    Second at the Maryland 2A state championships. Howard County champion.

    Jennifer Modliszewski, Liberty
    Virginia AA state and Northwestern District champion. Runner-up at Foot Locker South Region.

    Devon Moore, Brentsville
    Two-time Virginia A champion. Has helped Tigers win state team titles past three years.

    Kelley Otstott, Jefferson
    Fastest freshman time ever (17:24.4) at Burke Lake Park. Fourth in Virginia AAA.

    Girls Second Team

    Athlete School Yr.
    Nicole Behms Eleanor Roosevelt Soph.
    Claudin Hull Quince Orchard Jr.
    Lucinda Hull Quince Orchard Jr.
    Jessica Jennings H.D. Woodson Soph.
    Njetil Lowe Poolesville Sr.
    Erin Sicher Good Counsel Jr.
    Kim Hurney Good Counsel Fr.
    Megan McLaughlin Marshall Sr.

    Boys Second Team

    Athlete School Yr.
    Derik Burrows Woodbridge Sr.
    James Connelly James Wood Sr.
    Tim Dlugasch Central (Va.) Sr.
    Andrew Macleod Oakton Jr.
    Ernest Reynolds H.D. Woodson Sr.
    Adam Rick Field School Sr.
    Andrew Roynestad Gaithersburg Jr.
    Jason Trant Stafford Sr.

    Honorable Mention

    Samia Akbar, Oakton; Renee Berry, Seneca Valley; Dawn Cleary, Woodbridge; Lucy Dinsmore, Field School; Valerie Echeverria, Brentsville; Mary Hale, Langley; Molly Harkin, O'Connell; Stacy Mallare, River Hill; Megan McGolrick, Damascus; Katrina Menard, Stuart; Amy Montemerlo, Lake Braddock; Kali Moody, Georgetown Visitation; Martha Nelson, Bethesda-CC; Robin Ritter, Sherando; Heather Sagen, Libery; Beth Santilli, Glenelg; Katie Sloan, Glen Burnie; Nicole Snider, Jefferson; Kristin Sunderdick, Oakland Mills; Nicole Williams, Osbourn Park.

    Matt Cooke, Maret; Tim Dlugasch, Central (Va.); Jonathan Farrell, Potomac Falls; Chris Feist, Hylton; Jacob Frey, Oakton; Daniel Heiner, Centreville; Tyrone Jones, Lee; Kohei Ishihara, St. Andrew's; Charlie Nickum, Robinson; Matias Palavecino, Watkins Mill; Mike Prada, River Hill; Davy Rogers, Richard Montgomery; Landon Schmitt, Potomac School; Edward Thurston, Wilson; Leonard Twalla, Northwestern; Mike Zaron, Atholton.

    How the Selections Were Made: Coaches of all Washington area teams were invited to submit nominations. All-Met selections were made by Bryan Tucker of The Post's scholastic staff.

    Photographs: Photos were taken by Gerald Martineau of The Post at the Jefferson Memorial, with the cooperation of the National Park Service.

    © Copyright 1997 The Washington Post Company

  • news | sport by sport | school directory | statistics | history

    Go to High School Sports | Go to Sports