News Home Page
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
Fall All-Mets
- Boys' Cross-Country
. Girls' Cross-Country
- Field Hockey
- Football
- Boys' Soccer
- Girls' Soccer
Leagues and Sports
Inside Sports
Live Online
Sports Index
 Home & Garden
 Weekly Sections
 News Digest
 Print Edition
 Site Index
All-Met All-Mets
Left to right: Kelly Swain (Lake Braddock), Kristin Hart (Herndon), Ashley St. Denis (Walter Johnson), Keira Carlstrom (Oakton), Kristyn Shiring (North Stafford), Jemissa Hess (Hylton), Karen Pulliam (Quince Orchard), Susan Hendrick (Patuxent), Coach Ed Linz (West Springfield).
(John McDonnell - The Washington Post)

First Team |  Runner of the Year |  Coach of the Year
Second Team |  Honorable Mention

Runner of the Year
Keira Carlstrom, Oakton, Sr.
Three-time All-Met ran the fastest time of any girl in Virginia this season (17 minutes 55 seconds). Carlstrom won her second consecutive Virginia AAA, Northern Region and Concorde District meets. Also won the Mount St. Mary's, Wood County (W.Va.) and Glory Days Invitationals.

Coach of the Year
Ed Linz, West Springfield
The Spartans won the AAA Northern Region title and finished third in the state and second in the Patriot District; last year they finished sixth out of seven teams in the district. Recorded their first victory since 1998 in the Brentsville Relays in September.

First Team
Kristin Hart, Herndon, Soph.
Placed third in the Virginia AAA and Northern Region meets.

Susan Hendrick, Patuxent, Jr.
Maryland 3A runner-up won the Southern Maryland Athletic Conference title.

Jemissa Hess, Hylton, Jr.
Repeat All-Met was Virginia AAA runner-up and Northwest Region champion.

Karen Pulliam, Quince Orchard ,Sr.
Four-time All-Met overcame summer surgery on both feet to capture her second Maryland 4A title.

Ashley St. Denis, Walter Johnson, Soph.
Won the Maryland 3A title; also won the West Region meet by more than 30 seconds.

Kristyn Shiring, North Stafford, Sr.
Claimed the Wolverine Chase, Chancellor and Fork Union Invitationals and was fifth in Virginia AAA.

Kelly Swain, Lake Braddock, Jr.
Repeat All-Met was second in AAA Northern Region. Won Monroe Parker Invitational by one minute.

Second Team
Dacia Barr, Centreville, Soph.

Sara Bowman, Fauquier, Fr.

Lauren Centrowitz, Broadneck, Soph.

Jessica Fanning, Loudoun Vall., Soph.

Sam Ference, Robinson, Jr.

Emily Fertig, Sidwell Friends, Sr.

Rebecca Funk, Severna Park, Sr.

Joanna Rodger, Robinson, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Crystal Anyanwu, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.; Caroline Bellis, South Lakes, Fr.; Rochelle Billingslea, Wilson, Sr.; Meredith Cleveland, Potomac Falls, Jr.; Katie Endres, Potomac Falls, Soph.; Beth Fahey, Forest Park, Soph.; Megan Fogarty, Paul VI Catholic, Sr.; Indria Garcia, Carroll, Sr.; Leslie Grant, Strasburg, Sr.; Maureen Hagen, West Springfield, Sr.; Chelsea Henderson, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Mary Hogan, Paul VI Catholic, Sr.; Laura Holtrop, Chapelgate, Sr.; Jessica Hoppe, Brooke Point, Soph.; Shontia Jackson, Anacostia, Fr.; Megan Kirby, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Jamie Limongonelli, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Karen Mayer, Churchill, Sr.; Annie Maynard, George Mason, Sr.; Kristin Milot, Stonewall Jackson, Soph.; Rocky Morgan, Middletown, Jr.; Kristen Novara, James Wood, Soph.; Moriah O'Brien, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Rose Overbey, Quince Orchard, Jr.; Ashley Owen, Westlake, Soph.; Morgan Phelan, Hayfield, Soph.; Mindy Peele, Brentsville, Soph.; Stacy Potter, Massaponax, Jr.; Carrie Selmer, Glenelg, Sr.; Amie Shomette, Urbana, Sr.; Dana Thomas, Stonewall Jackson, Sr.; Julie Viraugh, Oakcrest, Sr.; Anastasia Wieroniey, Northern, Fr.

© Copyright 2001 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top


Search Options
Site Search