Boys' Cross-Country

Front (left to right): Steven Duplinsky, Georgetown Prep; Matthew Centrowitz, Broadneck; Coach Rob Dulin, Brentsville; Mikias Gelagle, Eleanor Roosevelt; Will Eden, Annapolis. Back: Andrewn Jesien, Walter Johnson; Dawit Legesse, Lee; Brad Siragusa, Chantilly; Patrick Eggleston, Brentsville. (Jonathan Newton - The Washington Post)

Runner of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Second Team   Honorable Mention
State Champions

Runner of the Year

Andrew Jesien, Walter Johnson, Sr.
A repeat All-Met, Jesien overcame a stress fracture last spring and a bout of mononucleosis in September to reemerge as one of the area's best by the end of this season. Jesien was the Maryland 4A runner-up after winning the 4A West Region and Montgomery County championships. He won the Georgetown Prep Invitational and Meade Autumn Classic titles, and he was second at the Lake Fairfax Invitational and the Maymont Cross-Country Festival.

Coach of the Year

Rob Dulin, Brentsville
In Dulin's 15 years at the Nokesville school, Brentsville has become a perennial Virginia powerhouse. A reclassification up to Group AA in 2003 did not affect the Tigers, whose boys captured the state crown this season in decisive fashion. Brentsville had four runners in the top 15 and scored 33 points, the best score by a AA champion since 1978. Dulin won his 10th state title (seven girls and three boys), the most in Virginia history. At the Region II meet, the Tigers won with the top four finishers. Brentsville also won the Wendy's Invitational in Charlotte.

First Team

Matthew Centrowitz, Broadneck, Soph.
A soccer player in 2003, Centrowitz switched sports this fall and, by the end of the year, had captured the Maryland 4A, 4A East Region and Anne Arundel County championships.

Steven Duplinsky, Georgetown Prep, Jr.
Repeated as Interstate Athletic Conference champ. Set a meet record (16:10) to win the Spiked Shoe Invitational and also won Baltimore-Washington Private School championship.

Will Eden, Annapolis, Sr.
Won the 3A East Region title and the Maryland 3A title. Finished second in Anne Arundel County after winning the meet as a sophomore and a junior.

Patrick Eggleston, Brentsville, Sr.
Captured the Virginia AA championship and led the Tigers to the team title. He was the Region II and Northwestern District champion and took third at the Glory Days Grill Invitational.

Mikias Gelagle, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.
Was third in Maryland 4A. Won six races, including three invitationals, the county and region titles, and the junior division of the Foot Locker Northeast Region meet.

Dawit Legesse, Lee, Sr.
Liberty District and Virginia Tech Invitational champion was second at the Virginia AAA Northern Region and Georgetown Prep meets and ninth in Virginia AAA. Took 20th in the Foot Locker Southeast Region meet.

Brad Siragusa, Chantilly, Jr.
The Virginia AAA Concorde District and Northern Region champ also won the Monroe Parker and Lake Fairfax meets. Was fifth in the state and 17th in the Foot Locker Southeast Region meet.

Second Team
Devin Cornwall, Culpeper, Jr.
Abe Daganchew, Herndon, Soph.
Ricky Flynn, Damascus, Sr.
Nick Gehlsen, Brentsville, Sr.
Bryce Iverson, Forest Park, Sr.
Ryan Janes, Gaithersburg, Jr.
Matt Logie, Northwest, Sr.
Michael Spooner, West Springfield, Soph.

Honorable Mention
Drew Abernethy, Georgetown Prep, Jr.; David Anderson, La Plata, Sr.; Sean Bernett, Heritage, Sr.; Simon Biddle-Snead, Clarke County, Soph.; Jason Bove, Quince Orchard, Sr.; Brad Clark, Lake Braddock, Sr.; Mark Dewine, O'Connell, Sr.; Brandon Dick, Massaponax, Sr.; Brian Harvey, Centennial, Sr.; Ricky Jacobs, Ballou, Sr.; Nick Jachowski, West Potomac, Sr.; Chris Katilie, Jefferson, Sr.; Nick Keane, River Hill, Sr.; Kyle Kinnally, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Matt Llano, Broadneck, Jr.; Daniel Leyh, Colonial Forge, Jr.; Robel Mamo, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Zach Martinez, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Ermin Mujezinovic, Herndon, Soph.; Trevor O'Toole, Courtland, Jr.; Danny Page, Leonardtown, Sr.; James Phillips, Oakton, Jr.; Andrew Revelle, Atholton, Soph.; Kyle Smith, Jefferson, Sr.; Charlie Swartz, Osbourn, Sr.; Kelli Thibou, Eleanor Roosevelt, Soph.; Jake Travers, Sidwell Friends, Sr.; Jacob Watts, Brentsville, Sr.; Ryan Woodlee, Episcopal, Sr.; Sergiy Zubko, River Hill, Jr.

© 2004 The Washington Post Company