Boys' Soccer

Front (left to right): Paul Potemra, Bullis; Freddy Merkel, Magruder; Rodney Wallace, Bullis. Middle: Matt Stara, River Hill; Erick Perez-Segnini, Watkins Mill; Justin Kondos, Arundel; Jimmy Carroll, Gonzaga; Drew Yates, DeMatha. Back: Coach Bill Stara, River Hill; Joel Senior, Carroll; Hilaire Babou, Walter Johnson; Josh Pike, Watkins Mill; Miguel Mendez, Sherwood. (Preston Keres - The Washington Post)

Player of the Year

MF Drew Yates, DeMatha, Sr.
The dangerous midfielder led the top-ranked Stags to a 23-0 record, their third straight Washington Catholic Athletic Conference championship and a No. 3 national ranking by the NSCAA. His exceptional touch and superb passing skills helped him score 14 goals and assist on six others. The former participant in the U.S. Soccer Residency Program was named first team all-state. Will play for Maryland.

Coach of the Year

Bill Stara, River Hill
One of the most successful high school boys' soccer coaches in Maryland history guided the second-ranked Hawks (14-1-2) to their fourth consecutive 3A state title and seventh state crown overall. Coached at Centennial before River Hill opened, guiding the Eagles to seven state titles and earning All-Met Coach of the Year honors in 1995. Stara, a coach for 24 seasons, retired after the season with a career record of 341-37-19.

Star Performance

Drew Yates scored a goal in each of DeMatha's three victories over rival Gonzaga this season, including one in the WCAC championship game.

First Team

GK Freddy Merkel, Magruder, Sr.
Helped Colonels to the Maryland 4A West Region title with a school-record-tying nine shutouts. First team all-state selection finished career with 27 shutouts.

D Josh Pike, Watkins Mill, Sr.
Strong-legged back was named second team all-state after helping the Wolverines (15-2) shut out nine opponents. The four-year starter scored four goals and had seven assists.

D Paul Potemra, Bullis, Sr.
Four-year starter solidified a defense that yielded only seven goals all season. His stellar vision, accurate passing and leadership helped the Bulldogs (17-1) post 12 shutouts and win the IAC championship.

D Matt Stara, River Hill, Sr.
Howard County player of the year and first team all-state selection had six goals and 24 assists. Was the leader of a Hawks defense that posted 11 shutouts.

MF Joel Senior, Carroll, Sr.
The repeat All-Met and two-time WCAC player of the year has a knack for scoring spectacular goals. He scored 10 goals and had four assists this season.

MF Rodney Wallace, Bullis, Jr.
Crafty midfielder is adept at creating space in attacking situations. Helped lead a Bullis offense that outscored opponents 61-7. He scored 14 goals and had 7 assists.

MF Miguel Mendez, Sherwood, Sr.
The two-time all-Montgomery County selection helped the Warriors (15-3-1) win their second straight Maryland 4A championship. As the leader of Sherwood's talented midfield, he scored nine goals.

MF Erick Perez-Segnini, Watkins Mill, Sr.
The powerful midfielder and team captain was named first team all-state. A two-time all-Montgomery County selection, Perez-Segnini had three goals and eight assists. Will play for George Washington.

F Hilaire Babou, Walter Johnson, Sr.
The speedy striker is stellar with the ball at his feet. First team all-state selection and team captain scored 10 goals and had 12 assists for the Wildcats (10-3-2).

F Jimmy Carroll, Gonzaga, Sr.
The two-time all-WCAC selection led the Eagles (15-8-2) to their fourth consecutive appearance in the conference championship. Had 16 goals and six assists this season. Will play for Virginia Tech.

F Justin Kondos, Arundel, Sr.
The tall forward was a dominant presence in the air. He scored 13 goals and had nine assists for the Wildcats, earning first-team all-state honors. Will play for Georgetown.

Second Team
GK Alex Beyard, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
D Mike Cacace, DeMatha, Sr.
D Mark Eisinger, Magruder, Sr.
D Tim McCormick, Broadneck, Sr.
D Jeff Sandusky, Sherwood, Sr.
MF Kyle Albrecht, DeMatha, Sr.
MF Mostafa Ebrahimnejad, Hammond, Jr.
MF Andrew Engel, Old Mill, Sr.
F Britton Cone, Whitman, Sr.
F Brandon Gross, McDonough, Sr.
F Tyler Meade, River Hill, Sr.
F Taylor Young, Severna Park, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Goalkeepers: Sean Daly, Calvert, Jr.; Dave Griffith, Hammond, Jr.; Ryan Hock, Sherwood, Sr.; Edgar Lopez, Richard Montgomery, Jr.; George Mansaray, Bladensburg, Soph.; Matt Moss, River Hill, Sr.; Brett Schmidt, St. Mary's Ryken, Soph.; Trent Hebron, DeMatha, Jr.

Defenders: Matt Arrington, Whitman, Sr.; Zach Barnett, River Hill, Jr.; Zack Bennett, Mt. Hebron, Jr.; Alex Biglow, Quince Orchard, Sr.; Alex Brand, Wootton, Sr.; Abirham Firew, Blair, Sr.; Kevin Gibson, Oakland Mills, Sr.; Steven Jacobsen, Westlake, Sr.; Cedric Mansaray, Bladensburg, Sr.; Mike Natelli, Gonzaga, Sr., Kevin Noble, DeMatha, Sr.; Patrick Selwood, The Heights, Sr.; Justin Sissman, Churchill, Sr.

Midfielders: Jordan Adair, Northern, Sr.; Fro Adu, Georgetown Prep, Jr.; Orlin Cruz, Long Reach, Sr.; Victor Faustino, The Heights, Sr.; Chris Fraczkowski, Mount Hebron, Sr.; Phillip Grossmiller, Bowie, Sr.; Ryan Hadley, St. Mary's-Annapolis, Sr.; Foday Kamara, Bladensburg, Soph.; Ever Lemus, Bethesda-Chevy-Chase, Sr.; Gift Maworere, Episcopal, Sr.; Neill Ouska, Bullis, Sr.; Jon Pike, Wootton, Sr.; Steve Renner, O'Connell, Sr.; Grayson Schmeltzer, Atholton, Sr.; Tom St. George, O'Connell, Jr.

Forwards: John Beltran, Atholton, Jr.; Karl Digbeu, Watkins Mill, Sr.; Eduardo Flores, Rockville, Sr.; Chad Henry, Sandy Spring, Sr.; Greg Howard, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.; Konrad Hutt, Westlake, Sr.; Nirav Kadam, Northwest, Jr.; Justin Martinelli, Mount Hebron, Jr.; Jason McCann, Leonardtown, Sr.; Israel Sesay, Quince Orchard, Soph.; Daniel Shannon, Tuscarora, Jr.; Mike Thomas, Thomas Johnson, Jr.; Jeff Tracy, Georgetown Day, Sr.; Will Vernigor, Whitman, Jr.; Zach Zimmer, Bullis, Soph.

© 2004 The Washington Post Company