Boys' Cross-Country

Front (left to right): Steven Duplinsky, Georgetown Prep; Matt Kroetch, Oakton; Mike Spooner, West Springfield; Kyle Ryan, Linganore. Back: Coach Whitty Bass, Wilde Lake; Matthew Centrowitz, Broadneck; James Phillips, Oakton; Brad Siragusa, Chantilly; Mikias Gelagle, Eleanor Roosevelt. (Preston Keres - The Washington Post)

Runner of the Year

Steven Duplinsky, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
A three-time All-Met, Duplinsky's fall included a world championship in the triathlon and a dominant cross-country season, including five wins and three course records. He won the Eastern States and Bull Run Invitational, and set course records in winning the William & Mary Invitational (14:30), the Interstate Athletic Conference (15:09) and D.C.-Maryland Private Schools Championship (15:40). He will compete for Stanford.

Coach of the Year

Whitty Bass, Wilde Lake
Bass's squad began the season with only eight runners, and just one with varsity experience, but by the end of the season the Wildecats had emerged as a state champion. Bass is the minister of St. John United Methodist-Presbyterian Church in Columbia, and has coached at Wilde Lake for four years.

Star Performance

In consecutive races, Chantilly's Brad Siragusa won the Virginia AAA title in 15:21 and qualified for Foot Locker nationals with a career-best 15:00 at the South Region meet.

First Team

Matthew Centrowitz, Broadneck, Jr.
The two-time All-Met repeated as Maryland 4A champ, winning in 16:01, a tie for second-best ever on the Hereford High state course. He was also Anne Arundel County and 4A East Region champ.

Mikias Gelagle, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.
Gelagle won the Mountain Top and Harford invites and was the champion of Prince George's County and the Maryland 4A South Region. He was runner-up at the 4A state meet. The repeat All-Met has signed with Arizona State.

Matt Kroetch, Oakton, Sr.
One of the area's most improved runners, Kroetch was seventh for the state champion Cougars. He took third in the Northern Region and 23rd at the Foot Locker South Regional, second among area athletes.

PJames Phillips, Oakton, Sr.
Phillips was the Virginia AAA champion Cougars' top finisher at the state meet, taking fourth. He was fifth in the Northern Region, third in the Concorde District and third at the Eastern States meet.

Kyle Ryan, Linganore, Sr.
In just his second year running, Ryan emerged as one of Maryland's best, winning seven of eight races. He was champion at the Frederick County, Monacacy Valley Athletic League, 3A West Region and 3A state meets.

Brad Siragusa, Chantilly, Sr.
With a devastating final kick, Siragusa won the Virginia AAA title by four seconds and finished sixth in the Foot Locker South Regional, becoming the first area boy in four years to qualify for nationals. He will run for Northern Arizona.

Mike Spooner, West Springfield, Jr.
Spooner was runner-up in Virginia AAA. His stellar season included consecutive wins at the Salesianum, Glory Days and Runnin' With the Wolves invitationals and the Patriot District and Northern Region championships.

Second Team
Chris Barnard, Sherwood, Jr.
Simon Biddle-Snead, Clarke County, Sr.
Devin Cornwall, Culpeper, Sr.
Abe Dagnachew, Herndon, Jr.
Ryan Janes, Gaithersburg, Sr.
Ermin Mujezinovic, Herndon, Jr.
Jeffrey Perlis, Sidwell Friends, Sr.
Andrew Revelle, Atholton, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Drew Abernethy, Georgetown Prep, Sr.; Matt Abernethy, Georgetown Prep, Soph.; J.P. Allera, Wilde Lake, Jr.; Tarik Aougab, Churchill, Sr.; Nick Bax, St. Albans, Soph.; Graham Bazell, Atholton, Fr.; Travis Boccher, Wilde Lake, Sr.; Christopher Bowie, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.; Matt Chandler, Gonzaga, Sr.; Jason Driscoll, Battlefield, Sr.; Adam Henken, Brentsville, Jr.; Kyle Gaffney, Blake, Jr.; Nick Gehlsen, Brentsville, Sr.; Sean Guy, Westlake, Sr.; Daniel Honey, W.T. Woodson, Sr.; Will Jacobs, James Monroe, Sr.; Brian Landry, Jefferson, Soph.; Matt Llano, Broadneck, Sr.; Tommy Mason, Oakton, Sr.; Nick McLaughlin, Heritage, Jr.; Henry Melius, Brentsville, Jr.; Christopher Moen, Walter Johnson, Soph.; Nick Mulder, Washington International, Soph.; Paul Norland, Jefferson, Jr.; Thomas Porter, Mountain View, Fr.; Rob Sagar, Bishop Ireton, Sr.; Camron Thomas, H.D. Woodson, Jr.; Levi Watson, Sherando, Sr.; Max Werner, Potomac Falls, Sr.; Robert Wetzel, Spalding, Jr.

© 2004 The Washington Post Company