Girls' Cross-Country

Front (left to right): Kayley Byrne, Oakton; Kay Comer, Colonial Forge; Stefanie Slekis, Forest Park; Sarrah Hadiji, W.T. Woodson. Back: Coach Ed Purpura, Severna Park; Dominique Lockhart, Eleanor Roosevelt; Marika Walker, Eleanor Roosevelt; Erin Klein, Lake Braddock; Alison Smith, Atholton. (Preston Keres - The Washington Post)

Runner of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Second Team
Honorable Mention  Star Performance

Runner of the Year

Marika Walker, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.
In just her second year of cross-country, Walker quickly emerged as a premier runner and a key cog in the Raiders' Maryland 4A championship and berth in the elite Nike Team Nationals. Walker won the 4A championship in a time of 19:19, the second-best time among all Maryland competitors and best among area runners. She was also the champion of the 4A South Region, where her team also won.

Coach of the Year

Ed Purpura, Severna Park
A graduate of Severna Park and its 18-year coach, Purpura led the Falcons as they once again dominated Anne Arundel County on their way to the third state title in school history. The Falcons won eight meets this year, including a sweep of the postseason, behind an underclassman-dominated squad.

Star Performance

Atholton's Alison Smith finished an injury-plagued season by winning the Maryland 2A championship and finishing first among area entrants at the Foot Locker Northeast Regional.

First Team

Kayley Byrne, Oakton, Sr.
A repeat All-Met, Byrne won the AAA Northern Region championship by a split second, leading her team to the title. She and her team also won the Concorde District. She was second at the Great Meadows Invitational.

Kay Comer, Colonial Forge, Soph.
The repeat All-Met was runner-up in the Virginia AAA Commonwealth District and Northwestern Region, and sixth in AAA. Comer was the area's top finisher (33rd) at the Foot Locker South Regional.

Sarrah Hadiji, W.T. Woodson, Jr.
Hadiji was the top area finisher at the Virginia AAA meet, capturing second in 18:12. Hadiji won the Liberty District and was third in the Northern Region.

Erin Klein, Lake Braddock, Sr.
Klein won the Virginia AAA Patriot District by 30 seconds, and was runner-up in the Northern Region by less than a second. Klein won the Monroe Parker Invitational and finished eighth in AAA.

Dominique Lockhart, Eleanor Roosevelt, Soph.
Lockhart was the Raiders' top runner for much of the year, winning the Prince George's County and Harford Invite titles and taking second at the Mountain Top Invitational and the Maryland 4A South Regional.

Stefanie Slekis, Forest Park, Sr.
A repeat All-Met, Slekis won three races, including the Virginia AAA Cardinal District meet. She was third in the Northwestern Region and seventh in AAA. She will run for Syracuse.

Alison Smith, Atholton, Jr.
The three-time All-Met bounced back from injury and illness to win her second Maryland 2A title. She was Howard County champion, and was the area's best finisher (16th place) at the Foot Locker Northeast Regional.

Second Team
Brittany Copeland, Brooke Point, Jr.
Stephanie Garcia, Broad Run, Sr.
Katie Harman, River Hill, Fr.
Elizabeth Harrison, Episcopal, Sr.
Kelsey Hill, Severna Park, Fr.
Stephany Reaves, Jefferson, Sr.
Teshika Rivers, E. Roosevelt, Fr.
Becky Stewart, Brentsville, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Michelle Britto, Woodbridge, Fr.; Alexis Deegan, Westfield, Jr.; Rebekah Berlin, Oakton, Sr.; Katlyn Dillow, Leonardtown, Soph.; Emma Eckerstrom, Northwest, Soph.; Amelia Emerson, Brentsville, Soph.; Louise Hannallah, Churchill, Soph.; Cara Harrison, Quince Orchard, Jr.; Molly Hawkins, Colonial Forge, Jr.; Elizabeth Heath, West Potomac, Soph.; Susan Heller, Holton-Arms, Soph.; Annie Hovland, Robinson, Fr.; Amber Lussier, North Stafford, Sr.; Nora McCall, Good Counsel, Jr.; Liz McCarter, Mount Hebron, Jr.; Meredith McEntee, Edmund Burke, Sr.; Nora Meehan, Oakton, Soph.; Keely Murphy, Northern, Sr.; Jillian Pollack, Millbrook, Jr.; Michelle Presley, Lake Braddock, Jr.; Kelly Reinwald, North Stafford, Soph.; Veronica Salcido, Wootton, Soph.; Leah Schubel, Chancellor, Fr.; Ashlyn Sinclair, Blair, Jr.; Halsey Sinclair, Blair, Jr.; Andria Smallwood, Ballou, Sr.; Susanna Sullivan, George Mason, Soph.; Meredith Tighe, Oakton, Jr.; Jessica Trapeni, Fairfax, Sr.; Tait Woodward, Broadneck, Jr.

© 2004 The Washington Post Company