Girls' Cross-Country

Back row (left to right): Morgane Gay, Whitman; Sarrah Hadiji, W.T. Woodson; Alison Smith, Atholton; Nancy Specht, Clarke County. Front row: Cara Harrison, Quince Orchard; Michelle Presley, Lake Braddock; Becky Stewart, Brentsville; Marika Walker, Eleanor Roosevelt; Elizabeth McCarter, Mount Hebron (not pictured).

First Team   Second Team   Honorable Mention
Player of the Year   Coach of the Year


Player of the Year

Alison Smith | Atholton | Sr.
The three-time All-Met ended her illustrious career with 10 titles - the last three Maryland 2A titles, three of the last four 2A South Region titles and four straight Howard County championships. She placed fifth in the Foot Locker Northeast Region in a personal-best time of 17:55 and was 18th at the national race in San Diego (18:37).

Coach of the Year

Nancy Specht | Clarke County
A graduate of Clarke County High and a teacher there for 32 years, Specht made Virginia history by becoming the first coach to lead both the boys' and girls' cross-country teams to state titles in the same season three straight years. Clarke County has won the A Bull Run District and Region B championships in the last three years as well.

First Team

Morgane Gay | Whitman | Jr.
Was the Montgomery County champion and placed second at the Maryland 4A West Region and state meets. She also won her division of the Manhattan Invitational by 38 seconds.

Sarrah Hadiji | W.T. Woodson | Sr.
The repeat All-Met won the Monroe Parker and Glory Days invitationals, her second straight AAA Liberty District title and the Northern Region championship. She was the area's top finisher at the Foot Locker South Region meet, in 13th place. Will run for William & Mary.

Cara Harrison | Quince Orchard | Sr.
Finished second in Montgomery County, third in the 4A West Region and third in the state. She also won the Peter Geraghty Invitational and finished third at Glory Days. Will run for Brown.

Michelle Presley | Lake Braddock | Sr.
Was runner-up in the AAA Patriot District and third in the Northern Region. Her seventh-place finish at the Virginia AAA championships was the area's top performance, helping her team finish second. Will run for James Madison.

Becky Stewart | Brentsville | Sr.
Won her third straight AA Northwestern District title and her second straight Region II championship. She also was runner-up for the second year in a row at the state meet, posting the Washington area's second-fastest time of the day among all classifications.

Marika Walker | Eleanor Roosevelt | Sr.
Won her second Maryland 4A state title while guiding Roosevelt to its third straight team championship. Also won the Prince George's County title and led her team to an eighth-place finish at the Nike Team Nationals. Will run for North Carolina State.

Elizabeth McCarter | Mount Hebron | Sr.
Won the Maryland 3A East Region and state championships. She also won the Doc Jones Invitational by more than a minute and was third at the Howard County championships.

Second Team
Elyse Borisko, Howard, Soph.
Kay Comer, Colonial Forge, Jr.
Brittany Copeland, Brooke Point, Sr.
Louise Hanallah, Churchill, Jr.
Elizabeth Heath, W. Potomac, Jr.
Katie Ogden, Northern, Sr.
Halsey Sinclair, Blair, Sr.
Nora McCall, Good Counsel, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Tyreka Arrington, Eleanor Roosevelt, Soph.; Stephanie Bray, Robinson, Soph.; Michelle Britto, Woodbridge, Soph.; Erin Broy, Clarke County, Soph.; Katlyn Dillow, Leonardtown, Jr.; Lia DiValentin, Chantilly, Soph.; Frances Dowd, Fairfax, Soph.; Amelia Emerson, Brentsville, Jr.; Megan Fitzpatrick, O'Connell, Soph.; Sophia Holmes, Clarke County, Soph.; Ariel Karabinus, Osbourn Park, Fr.; Liya Kasimova, Severna Park, Jr.; Christina Lee, Potomac Falls, Fr.; Dominique Lockhart, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.; Hannah McLaughlin, Heritage, Fr.; Christine Moore, Lake Braddock, Jr.; Stephanie Paradis, Stone Bridge, Soph.; Aaren Pastor, W.T. Woodson, Soph.; Tasia Potasinski, Westfi eld, Jr.; Jennifer Redman, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.; Jenna Richmond, Centreville, Fr.; Teshika Rivers, Eleanor Roosevelt, Soph.; Moira Ryan, Georgetown Visitation, Soph.; Chrissy Sane, Centreville, Jr.; Ashley Seymour, Carroll, Soph.; Ashlyn Sinclair, Blair, Sr.; Angeli Sivaraman, Centennial, Sr.; Katie Walls, O'Connell, Jr.; Sarah Weber, Washington-Lee, Sr.; Olivia Webster, Leonardtown, Jr.
© The Washington Post Company