Girls' Cross-Country

First Team | Second Team | Honorable Mention

Featured Video

What Does It Take to Be an All-Met?
The Washington Post's scholastic sports staff asked, and All-Mets answered:
Louise Hannallah and Morgane Gay

Runner of the Year / Coach of the Year


Lia DiValentin
Chantilly » Jr.
DiValentin won the Concorde District and Northern Region titles and was runner-up at the Virginia AAA championship in 17:58. DiValentin recorded the fastest time by an area runner at the Foot Locker South Region meet, running a career-best 17:48.

Cindy Walls
Credited by O’Connell runners as a terrific motivator, Walls, in her third year, oversaw a Knights team that won the Gold Division of the Maymont Invitational and the Arlington County and WCAC championships. O’Connell also captured the VIS title, the school’s first since 1983.

First Team

[First Team]

Britt Eckerstrom Megan Fitzpatrick Morgane Gay Louise Hannallah
Northwest » Fr. O’Connell » Jr. Whitman » Sr. Churchill » Sr.
Eckerstrom placed third at the Montgomery County championships before winning the Maryland 4A West Region. She was runner-up at the 4A championships. Fitzpatrick ran 18:02 at the Glory Days Invitational and won the Arlington County and WCAC championships. She also won her first VIS crown in a meet-record 18:46.04. The repeat All-Met won the Peter Geraghty Invitational and Montgomery County championship. She was runner-up in the Maryland 4A West Region. Broke 18 minutes at the Meade Autumn Classic — placing second in 17:57 — and finished fourth in the Maymont Invitational. She was third at the Maryland 4A meet.

[Second Team]

Ariel Karabinus Dominique Lockhart Teshika Rivers
Osbourn Park » Soph Eleanor Roosevelt » Sr. Eleanor Roosevelt » Jr.
Karabinus won the Albemarle Invitational before grabbing her second Cedar Run District title and first Virginia AAA Northwest Region championship. Placed second at the prestigious and Maymont invitationals; won the Georgetown Prep Classic and the PG County title. The Raiders’ No. 2 runner separated herself from the pre-race favorites at the state meet and outkicked Britt Eckerstrom to win her first Maryland 4A title.

Second Team

Elyse Borisko » Howard, Jr.
Kay Comer » Colonial Forge, Sr.
Katie Harman » River Hill, Jr.
Christina Lee » Potomac Falls, Soph
Maeve Ricaurte » Glenelg Country School, Jr.
Hiruni Wijayaratne » Herndon, Jr.
Susanna Sullivan » George Mason, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Chinyelu Asher, Holy Cross, Fr.; Michelle Britto, Woodbridge, Jr.; Erin Broy, Clarke County, Soph.; Katlyn Dillow, Leonardtown, Sr.; Frankie Dowd, Fairfax, Jr.; Amelia Emerson, Brentsville, Sr.; Kelly Hagan, Lake Braddock, Soph.; Sophia Holmes, Clarke County, Soph.; Debbie Isen, Whitman, Sr.; Lisa Junta, Jefferson, Fr.; Liya Kasimova, Severna Park, Sr.; Becca Kassabian, Oakton, Jr.; Juashaunna Kelly, Theodore Roosevelt, Sr.; Hillary Lee, South River, Soph.; Erin McManus, Churchill, Sr.; Stephanie Paradis, Stone Bridge, Jr.; Moira Ryan, Georgetown Visitation, Jr.; Veronica Salcido, Wootton, Sr.; Ashley Seymour, Archbishop Carroll, Soph.; Elizabeth Walls, Battlefield, Sr.; Katie Walls, O’Connell, Jr.; Alex Watt, West Springfield, Soph.; Olivia Webster, Leonardtown, Sr.; Madeleine Willner, South County, Soph.; Anneka Wilson, Potomac School, Soph.

© The Washington Post Company