Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

 News Home Page
 Photo Galleries
 Area Pro Teams
 High Schools
  Boys Basketball
  Girls Basketball
  Cross Country
  Field Hockey
  Ice Hockey
  Swimming &
  Track and Field
 Leagues & Sports
 Sports Index
 Weekly Sections
 News Digest
 Print Edition
 News Index


Click on image for closer view. (Photography by Nancy Andrews - The Post)

First-Team |  Runner of the Year |  Coach of the Year
Second-Team |  Honorable Mentions

Girls First Team
Runner School Year
Christina Burleson Mount Vernon Sr.
Third at Virginia AAA Northern Region championships; ninth at Foot Locker South meet.

Lauren Chaikin Marshall Sr.
Third at Virginia AAA championships; fourth in Northern Region.

Dionne Evans Gar-Field Sr.
Repeat All-Met; Cardinal District and Northern Region champion.

Kate Frande Mount Hebron Sr.
Won Jack Griffin Invitational; third at Maryland 2A championships.

Meghan Hoffman West Potomac Soph.
Repeat All-Met; second in Virginia AAA state championships and Northern Region.

Lee McDuff River Hill Jr.
Repeat All-Met; second at Maryland 3A championships; Georgetown Prep Division I champion.

Colleen Winzeler George Mason Jr.
Virginia A state champion; third at Georgetown Prep Invitational.

Runner of the Year
Erin Swain Lake Braddock Sr.
Two-time All-Met; Virginia AAA state champion and Foot Locker South Region champion.Won five regular season meets, including Georgetown Prep Invitational.

Coach of the Year
Jerry Cutwright Louisa  
18th-year coach led Lions girls team to third Virginia state title during his tenure. Has also earned eight district titles and six regional titles.

Girls Second Team
Runner School Yr.
Niki Behrns Eleanor Roosevelt Sr.
Martha Buckley Wilson Sr.
Marjorie Censer W.T. Woodson Jr.
Emily Fertig Sidwell Friends Soph.
Kim Hurney Good Counsel Jr.
Carin Miller Chantilly Sr.
Karen Pulliam Quince Orchard Soph.
Jill Wilson Louisa Sr.

Honorable Mentions
Bridget Baker, Howard; Maria Barber, West Springfield; Linida Blake, Wilson; Erin Blaustein, Good Counsel; Jenny Bodine, Walter Johnson; Rachel Brandenburg, Jewish Day; Melissa Caudill, Loudoun County; Prentiss Clark, Bethesda-Chevy Chase; Katie Coan, T.C. Williams; Colleen Connell, Brooke Point; Claire Conron, Ireton; Christy Dannenberg, Potomac Falls; Keiona Frenche, Laurel; Rebecca Funk, Severna Park; Indira Garcia, Carroll; Sara Ghebremichael, Wilson; Maggie Guille, Whitman; Charissa George, Louisa; Mary Hogan, Paul VI; Laura Holtrop, Chapelgate; Erica Johnson, Dunbar; Jennifer Lapetoda, Loudoun County; Katie Lapp, Good Counsel; Leila McCarthy, Ireton; Kim Milans, Walter Johnson; Kelley Otstott, Jefferson; Mave Payton, Walter Johnson; Richelle Plotz, Hylton; Cara Raphael, National Cathedral; Lillian Ricardo, Patuxent; Catherine Seguin, Woodbridge; Carrie Selmer, Glenelg; Kristyn Shiring, North Stafford; Amie Shomette, Urbana; Amanda Wardlaw, Wilson; Alexis Wieroniey, Northern; Jessica Wolfe, Ireton.

© Copyright 1999 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top