NewsSport by SportSchool DirectoryStatisticsHistoryHigh School Sports FrontSports Front

1997-98 All-Met Girls Indoor Track Team

Thursday, April 2, 1998

  • Athlete of the Year
  • Coach of the Year

  • First Team
  • Honorable Mention
  • Selection Process

  • 1997-98 All-Met Indoor Track Team

    Front, left to right: Rickey Harris, Cory Smith, Amber Robinson, K.C. Allen, Sheena Johnson, Nicole Snyder, Faith Rein, Michael Williams and Tuah Wreh Jr.In middle: Girls Coach of the Year Mike Kiernan, Yolanda Thompson, Naccole Guinn, Emily Owens, January Williams, Sharon O'Connor and Michael Newell. Back: Alphonso Borland, Pat Conway, Andrew Long, Ato Modibo, Kirwayne Holford, Dante Myles and Boys Coach of the Year Scott Smith.
    Missing from photo: Laura Heiner.

    Naccole Guinn Athlete of the Year
    Naccole Guinn
    Thomas Jefferson High School

  • Repeat All-Met
  • National scholastic champion in triple jump.
  • Virginia AAA champion in long jump (holds area-best of 19-2) and 55 hurdles (second in area with time of 8.06 seconds).

    Coach of the Year
    Mike Kiernan

  • Led Knights to their first girls championship at the Hoxton Invitational, which brings together most of Washington area's top private schools.
  • Girls were Arlington County champions seven of past nine seasons.


    K.C. Allen Calvert Jr.
    Repeat All-Met. Md. 4A/3A champion in pole vault (set area-best of10-6). First at Virginia Tech Invitational, eighth at national championships.

    Laura Heiner Centreville Sr.
    Repeat All-Met. Member of U.S. World junior cross-country team. Virginia AAA indoor champion in 1,600 and 3,200 meters.

    Sheena Johnson Gar-Field Soph.
    Fourth at national championships in triple jump (39-7). Second in Virginia state championships in 55 hurdles (holds area-best time of 7.9 seconds).

    Sharon O'Connor Mount Vernon Jr.
    Virginia AAA champion in 1,000 (2:58.61). Second-best time in area in 800 (2:14.65) and 1,000 (2:55.04).

    Emily Owens Richard Montgomery Sr.
    Won high jump in six major meets this season, including Maryland 4A/3A championships. Area's top high jump at 5-7.

    Faith Rein Centreville Jr.
    Virginia AAA champion in the 300 (holds area-best time of 39.35) and 500 (area-best of 1:14.72).

    Amber Robinson Eleanor Roosevelt Sr.
    Repeat All-Met. Md. 4A/3A champion in 55 (7.14) and 300 (41.0). Tied for area-best time in 55 (6.9).

    Nicole Snider Jefferson Jr.
    Repeat All-Met. Area's top time in 1,000 (2:53.39) and anchor on 4x800 Virginia AAA championship relay. Third in Millrose high school mile.

    Yolanda Thompson West Potomac Jr.
    Set Virginia AAA state meet record in winning triple jump at 41-9. Area's-best triple jump (43-9) and second in long jump (19-0).

    January Williams Lake Braddock Sr.
    Area best shot put at 41-1. Virginia AAA state champion. First in Northern Region and Patriot District.


    Sprints/Hurdles: Sharell Augusta, Douglass; Autumn Baltimore, Woodbridge; Janelle Billingslea, Coolidge; Lesley Billups, O'Connell; Courtney Botts, Richard Montgomery; Teyarnte Carter, Long Reach; Jeraldine Coffie, South Lakes; Jessica DeFrietas, Eleanor Roosevelt; Indrid Elmore, Duval; Sherry Francis, Banneker; Je'Tonya Govan, H.D. Woodson; Shamika Griffin, Fairmont Heights; Michelle Hart, O'Connell; Genie LaVine, Gaithersburg; Mechelle Lewis, Oxon Hill; Mikisha Lewis, Oxon Hill; Megan Luzco, Paul VI; Janelle Ralph, Springbrook.

    Middle Distance/Distance: Liz Awtrey, Robinson; Martha Buckley, Wilson; Dawn Cleary, Woodbridge; Chika Chuku, Largo; Cecily Garber, Richard Montgomery; Yasmin Fields, Ballou; Claudin Hull, Quince Orchard; Lucinda Hull, Quince Orchard; Thema Napier, Long Reach; Kelly Otstott, Jefferson; Michelle Rafeedie, Seneca Valley; Beth Santilli, Glenelg; Erin Sicher, Good Counsel; Katie Sloan, Glen Burnie; Nicole Williams, Osbourn Park.

    Field Events: Cadriesha Akinfe, Coolidge; Katie Boloc, Gaithersburg; Inhar Chong, Fairfax; Ebony Dew, Fairmont Heights; Wendy Johnson, Eleanor Roosevelt; Ruth Kura, Quince Orchard; Susan Melanson, Paul VI; Beth Nealon, West Springfield; Shanti Powers, Mount Hebron; Ayanna Patterson, McLean; Mia Sizer, Coolidge; Mary Sullivan, O'Connell; Martine Ward, Hayfield.

    The Selection Process

    Coaches at more than 240 high schools in the Washington metropolitan area were asked to submit nominations of athletes on their team and opposing teams.

    Selections made by Bryan Tucker of The Washington Post's scholastic staff.

    Photos taken by The Post's Gerald Martineau at D.C. Fire Department Engine Company No. 29, which went into service in 1925 in Northwest Washington.

    © Copyright 1998 The Washington Post Company

  • news | sport by sport | school directory | statistics | history

    Go to High School Sports | Go to Sports