Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

News Home Page
News Digest
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
- All-Met History
 Spring All-Mets
- Winter
- Fall
- Sports Pages
- Directory
- Results
- Polls
Leagues and Sports
Inside Sports
Photo Galleries
Live Online
Sports Index
Weekly Sections
Print Edition
News Index

All-Mets All-Mets
The All-Met golf team convenes in the Folger Rose Garden, with the Smithsonian's Arts and Industries Building in the background. Left to right: Calli Vance (Arundel), JohnScott Rattan (Watkins Mill), Matt Johnson (Fairfax), Steve Doerrer (DeMatha), Jairo Irreno (Churchill), Charles Hong (Whitman), Kevin O'Connell (Georgetown Prep), Jenny Suh (Chantilly). (John McDonnell - The Post)

Golfer of the Year |  Coach of the Year
First-Team  |  Honorable Mention

Golfer of the Year
JohnScott Rattan, Watkins Mill, Sr.
Two-time All-Met rallied from five strokes behind with 11 to play to take Maryland state title (74-71 – 145). Won championship in a five-hole playoff. Signed with James Madison.

Coach of the Year
Rich Cameron, Whitman
Led Whitman to an astonishing 55-stroke victory at the Maryland 4A/3A championships. Team finished with a four-player total of 605; Whitman's players all placed in in the top 11.

First Team
Steve Doerrer, DeMatha, Jr.
Two-time All-Met finished the season with a 10-0-1 record for the Stags. Has not lost a match in three years at DeMatha.

Charles Hong, Whitman, Sr.
Last year's All-Met Golfer of the Year made it to first-place playoff at Maryland state tournament, finishing second (71-74 – 145).

Jairo Irreno, Churchill, Jr.
Posted the lowest stroke average in Montgomery County at 73.5 in the fall. Made it to first-place playoff at Maryland state tournament, finishing third (72-73 – 145).

Ryan Jeun, DeMatha, Jr.
Won the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference individual title by four strokes, shooting 73. Also tied for medalist honors at Private Schools Championship (70).

Matt Johnson, Fairfax, Sr.
Two-time All-Met won Quantico Invitational, Partiot District and Northern Region titles. Fell in second-place playoff at Virginia AAA tournament (36-hole total 148).

Kevin O'Connell, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
Three-time All-Met won third consecutive Interstate Athletic Conference championship, shooting 73. Tied for medalist honors at Private Schools Championship (70).

Kenny Roseberry, Loudoun County, Sr.
Won Virginia AA championship in first playoff hole. Finished state tournament with a two-day total of 153.

Jenny Suh, Chantilly, Fr.
Won Virginia AAA Concorde District title (70-75 – 145) and finished ninth in state tournament (76-79 – 155) competing against boys and girls.

Calli Vance, Arundel, Soph.
After finishing second in state as a freshman, won the Maryland state girls title by six strokes, shooting 80-79 – 159.

Honorable Mention
Peter Badawy, McLean; Richie Bamber, St. Mary's Ryken; Matt Buttgereit, Hylton; Jamie Farrah, Georgetown Prep; Chris Gentile, Hylton; Ben Hogan, Centreville; Billy Hurley, Loudoun County; Pat Loftus, Langley; Craig Mason, Hayfield; Jimmy Mackey, Landon; Billy Mellon, Brentsville; Maurice Newell, Largo; Joe Scheffres, Landon; Nick Pellicani, Severna Park; Keith Snyder, Oxon Hill; Dan Spiker, Poolesville; Ryan Tendall, Wootton.

© Copyright 2000 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top