Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

News Home Page
News Digest
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
- All-Met History
 Spring All-Mets
- Winter
- Fall
- Sports Pages
   Boys Lacrosse
- Directory
- Results
- Polls
   Boys Lacrosse
Leagues and Sports
Inside Sports
Photo Galleries
Live Online
Sports Index
Weekly Sections
Print Edition
News Index

All-Mets All-Mets
The All-Met boys lacrosse team gathers on the steps of the D.C. War Memorial. Seated, left to right: J.R. Bordley (Landon), Reed Sothoron (St. Mary's Ryken). Second row: Ted Lamade (Landon), Justin Smith (DeMatha), Dan Doty (Potomac School), Josh Lesko (Annapolis). Third row: Matt Fassnacht (Robinson), Paul Gillette (Severna Park), Coach John Sothorn (St. Mary's Ryken), Bill Gerrish (Georgetown Prep), Mike Riordan (Centreville). (By Mark Finkenstaedt - For The Post)

Player of the Year |  Coach of the Year  |  First-Team
Second-Team |  Honorable Mention

Player of the Year
Ted Lamade, Landon, Sr.
One of the area's most accurate shooters, Lamade had 40 goals for top-ranked Landon, which went 18-1 and won its 20th consecutive IAC title. Will attend Virginia next year.

Coach of the Year
John Sothoron, St. Mary's Ryken
Led Knights to 13-1 record, including victories over Georgetown Prep and St. Albans. Has a 139-44 record since starting the program in 1988, 203 career wins. Was an all-American goalkeeper at Towson in the 1970s.

First Team
GK Reed Sothoron, St. Mary's Ryken, Sr.
Small but quick goalie gave up less than four goals per game with .743 save percentage. Had 15 saves in victories over Georgetown Prep and St. Albans.
D Bill Gerrish, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
Dominating defender who could play close defense or defensive midfield. Held some of the area's top players scoreless over the past two seasons. Will attend Duke.
D Matt Pessagno, St. Mary's Annapolis, Sr.
Good positional defender who helped Saints to 10-7 record in one of the country's most competitive conferences. Will attend Virginia.
MF Paul Gillette, Severna Park, Sr.
Speedy player who also made mark collecting more than 300 ground balls in his career. Also had 26 goals and 59 assists in leading the Falcons to the Maryland 4A/3A title game. Will attend Maryland.
MF Josh Lesko, Annapolis, Sr.
One of the area's top scorers and face-off men. Had 69 goals and 27 assists and won 75 percent of his face-offs this season. Will attend Ohio State.
MF Matt Fassnacht, Robinson, Sr.
Won 76 percent of his face-offs and scored 36 goals through the district semifinals. Has scored more than 70 points each of the past two seasons. Will attend Ohio State.
MF Mike Riordan, Centreville, Sr.
Tireless player who rarely left the field had 24 goals, 14 assists and 150 ground balls. Won 80 percent of face-offs. Will attend Cornell.
A J.R. Bordley, Landon, Sr.
Speedy attackman had 32 goals, 29 assists. Two-year starter had knack for scoring game-winning goals in big games. Will attend Maryland.
A Dan Doty, Potomac School, Sr.
One of the area's most talented offensive players. School's all-time leading scorer (217 goals, 100 assists) had 55 goals, 27 assists this season. Will attend Duke.
A Justin Smith, DeMatha
Had 54 goals, 35 assists this season in leading Stags to second consecutive WCAC title. Had more than 40 goals last year. Will attend UMBC.

Second Team
G Tillman Johnson St. Mary's Annapolis Sr.
G Justin Lang Gonzaga Sr.
D Damian Hall Seneca Valley Sr.
D Ronnie Staines Severn Sr.
D Evan Santini St. Mary's Ryken Sr.
D Dave Wagner Severna Park Sr.
MF Andrew Giordano St. Albans Sr.
MF Joe Thompson St. Mary's Annapolis Sr.
A Neal Goldman Mount Hebron Sr.
A Mike McGuire O'Connell Sr.
A Kevin Shooshan Landon Sr.

Honorable Mention
Stewart Crosland, Landon; Matt Larkin, Severn School; Matt McConnell, Robinson; Matt Welch, Oakton.
Nate Bauers, Oakton; Austin Branson, St. Albans; Tom Cowles, Bullis; Justin Duffie, Landon; Alexi Kudla, Landon; Patrick Mahler, W.T. Woodson; Ryan McGarry, Severna Park; Will Rawson, St. Albans; Brice Roberts, Robinson.
Steve Clagett, DeMatha; Steve Coppinger, Walter Johnson; Matt Gallagher, DeMatha; Mark Lipscombe, St. Andrew's; John Machiran, Mount Hebron; Joe Parker, St. Mary's Ryken; Will Phillips, Annapolis; Brent Renner, W.T. Woodson; Scott Simmons, Springbrook; Phil Steele, Georgetown Prep; Alex Vap, St. Albans; Steve Wheeler, Potomac School.
Tyler Anderson, Centreville; Colin Cappadona, Gonzaga; Pat Christensen, St. Mary's Ryken; Alex Cole, West Potomac; Andrew Coleman, Madison; Mark Davis, Bullis; Drew Habeck, Severn; Kyle Hoyt, West Springfield; Scott Kenworthy, River Hill; Bret McConnaughhay, Annapolis; Kent Martin, Langley; Jason Miller, Robinson; Lee Moreland, St. Mary's Ryken; Jeff Mullenix, South River; Chase Peterson, Episcopal; Nick Purkat, W.T. Woodson; Mike Ricucci, Seneca Valley; John Schlegel, Gonzaga; Mike Selawski, Mount Hebron; Jerry Solazzo, DeMatha; Phil Stone, Annandale; David Wooster, Annapolis.

© Copyright 2000 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top