Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

News Home Page
News Digest
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
- All-Met History
 Spring All-Mets
- Winter
- Fall
- Sports Pages
- Directory
- Results
- Polls
Leagues and Sports
Inside Sports
Photo Galleries
Live Online
Sports Index
Weekly Sections
Print Edition
News Index

All-Mets All-Mets
The All-Met boys tennis team stands on the Kennedy Center's roof terrace overlooking the Mall. Left to right: Juan Jaysingh (Georgetown Prep), Chris Brown (Churchill), Brett Warner (Madison), Craig Anderson (Episcopal), Coach Keith MacKinnon (Georgetown Prep), David Emery (W.T. Woodson), Dennis Cravedi (Georgetown Prep), Ryan Guarnieri (Landon). (John McDonnell - The Post)

Player of the Year |  Coach of the Year
First-Team  |  Honorable Mention

Player of the Year
Juan Jaysingh, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
Repeat All-Met went 15-0 en route to his second straight No. 1 singles title at the Ben Johns Invitational. The American-signee is 31-1 over the past two seasons. Led the Little Hoyas to a 13-1 record and the Interstate Athletic Conference regular season title.

Coach of the Year
Keith MacKinnon, Georgetown Prep
Guided the Little Hoyas to their first outright IAC regular season title since 1972. Taking over a team that finished 4-7 in 1998, MacKinnon has directed the Rockville school to a 26-2 record over the past two seasons. Georgetown Prep went 13-1 this season.

First Team
Craig Anderson, Episcopal, Sr.
The James Madison signee has a 62-11 career record, including a 16-4 finish this season. Led Episcopal to the Ben Johns Invitational tournament championship.

Christopher Brown, Churchill, Soph.
The defending Maryland state singles champion finished the regular season 10-2 and won the Montgomery County title for the second straight year.

Dennis Cravedi, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
The Georgetown signee went 13-1 and won the Ben Johns Invitational at No. 2 singles for the second straight year. Has a four-year record of 52-5.

David Emery, W.T. Woodson, Jr.
Ranked No. 1 by Mid-Atlantic Tennis Association in boys 18-and-under singles for part of the season. Repeat All-Met won the Liberty District title, finished regular season 15-0.

Patrick Guarnieri, Landon, Sr.
Three-time All-Met won the No. 1 singles title at the Woodberry Forest Invitational. Named first team all-IAC and finished season ranked No. 12 by MATA. Will attend Virginia.

Brett Warner, Madison, Sr.
The George Washington signee finished the regular season 11-1; was a Virginia AAA Northern Region singles semifinalist and a state doubles semifinalist in 1999.

Honorable Mention
Kris Barnes, Gaithersburg; Troy Demers, Severna Park; Luke Friedman, Sidwell Friends; Myles Gardner, Jefferson; Ben Hatten, Churchill; Alex Hume, Episcopal; Andres Iriarte, Wootton; Brett Johnson, Northwest; Justin Marlowe, North Stafford; Simon Mbock, High Point; Brandon Morehead, Hylton; Marcus Ngbea, Rockville; Dash Pierce, Episcopal; Rowan Reynolds, St. Albans; Kenny Roy, DeMatha; Dominic Soeur, Herndon; Tim White, Key School; Shaul Yecheskel, Bethesda-Chevy Chase.

© Copyright 2000 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top