Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

    SPORTS Spring All-Mets 
 News Home Page
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
- All-Met History
 Spring 2001
- Winter 2001
- Fall 2000
- Sports Pages
- Directory
- Results
- Polls
Leagues and Sports
Inside Sports
Photo Galleries
Live Online
Sports Index
 Home & Garden
 Weekly Sections
 News Digest
 Print Edition
 Site Index

All-Mets All-Mets
Front row, from left to right: Coach Allison Kornet (National Cathedral), Mary Higgins (T.C. Williams), Kareen Murray (Jefferson), Jamie Holt (Robinson), Sian Jones (T.C. Williams). Second row: Katherine Ramos (McLean), Beccah Niesen (Yorktown), Erin Barringer (National Cathedral), Rachel Garver (National Cathedral), Alexandra Nelson (West Springfield). Third row: Mark Protacio (Hylton), Relja Ugrinich (T.C. Williams), Joseph Gwin (Bethesda-Chevy Chase), Arthur Peterson (St. Albans), Coach Christopher Graves (Bethesda-Chevy Chase). Back row: Michael Bales (Woodbridge), Mike Gottlieb (Jefferson), Giuseppe Lanzone (McLean), Nathan Carter (West Springfield), Eerik Hantsoo (St. Albans). (Jonathan Newton - The Washington Post)

Coach of the Year
First Team
Best Boats
Honorable Mention

Coach of the Year
Christopher Graves
Bethesda-Chevy Chase

Surrattsville High and Towson University graduate led the Barons to unprecedented success in his second year as head coach. B-CC's first four won gold at six of seven regattas including the capital, area and Stotesbury Cup championships. Second four placed fifth at area championships. Novice four claimed title at capital championships.

First Team
Michael Bales
Woodbridge, Sr.

Nathan Carter
West Springfield, Sr.

Mike Gottlieb
Jefferson, Jr.

Eerik Hantsoo
St. Albans, Sr.

Joseph Gwin
Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.

Giuseppe Lanzone
McLean, Sr.

Arthur Peterson
St. Albans, Sr.

Relja Ugrinich
T.C. Williams, Sr.

Mark Protacio
Hylton, Sr.

Best Boats
Senior 8: St. Albans
Second 8: T.C. Williams
First 4: Bethesda-Chevy Chase
Lightweight 8: T.C. Williams
Lightweight 4: W.T. Woodson

Honorable Mention
Nathaniel Allen, Wilson, Jr.
Brian Bosch, Hylton, Sr.
Mike Finkelstein, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.
Martin Gehrke, Gonzaga, Jr.
Scott Hartman, Hylton, Sr.
Morgan Henderson, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.
Nick Henderson, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.
Leo Hergenroeder, Jefferson, Jr.
Josh Holland, St. Albans, Sr.
Eugene Jerebitski, W.T. Woodson, Jr.
Nick Kapur, St. Albans, Jr.
Jason Koliatis, Langley, Sr.
Justin Lavin, Langley, Jr.
Mike Long, Robinson, Sr.
James O'Gara, McLean, Sr.
Chris Richbourg, Woodbridge, Soph.
Cristofer Rubini, T.C. Williams, Jr.
Charles Shuey, T.C. Williams, Sr.
Dan Streufert, Woodbridge, Sr.
Mike Tupek, Whitman, Jr.
Tommy Velarde, Jefferson, Jr.

Zack Cooper, Jefferson, Sr.
Jackson Maier, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.
Dana Martin, St. Albans, Jr.
Casey Weir, T.C. Williams, Sr.

Coach of the Year
First Team
Best Boats
Honorable Mention

Coach of the Year
Allison Kornet
National Cathedral

Massachusetts native and Dartmouth graduate guided the Eagles to new heights in her second year as head coach. Program's first eight earned titles at the capital and area championships before winning bronze at Stotesbury. Eagles' first four won gold at the capital and silver at the area championships. Kornet led four different boats to titles at the capital championships.

First Team
Erin Barringer
National Cathedral, Sr.

Rachel Garver
National Cathedral, Sr.

Mary Higgins
T.C. Williams, Jr.

Jamie Holt
Robinson, Jr.

Sian Jones
T.C. Williams, Sr.

Alexandra Nelson
West Springfield, Sr.

Beccah Niesen
Yorktown, Sr.

Katherine Ramos
McLean, Sr.

Kareen Murray
Jefferson, Sr.

Best Boats
Senior 8: National Cathedral
Second 8: T.C. Williams
First 4: McLean
Lightweight 8: T.C. Williams
Lightweight 4: Yorktown

Honorable Mention
Maureen Bowman, Langley, Jr.
Brooke Barnett, Wilson, Sr.
Christina Baumel, National Cathedral, Sr.
Kelley Bryan, Woodbridge, Jr.
Meredith Corley, T.C. Williams
Julie Gluck, National Cathedral
Claire Goldberg, Whitman, Sr.
Yassamin Haririnia, Robinson, Sr.
Heather Ichord, Jefferson, Sr.
Ashley Jones, T.C. Williams, Soph.
Debbie Miller, West Potomac, Sr.
Alex Owen, National Cathedral, Jr.
Kristina Peterson, National Cathedral, Sr.
Rachel Redfern, Robinson, Sr.
Janie Roden, T.C. Williams, Jr.
Anna Schmidt, T.C. Williams, Sr.
Lindsay Soyars, Episcopal, Sr.
Elizabeth Stowers, Episcopal, Sr.
Catherine Thrasher, West Potomac, Sr.
Lizzie Thompson, National Cathedral, Sr.
Amanda Williamson, Woodbridge, Sr.

Amber Carrier, Woodbridge, Jr.
Martha Dight, T.C. Williams, Soph.
Deirdre Kelleher, Georgetown Visitation, Sr.
Bailey Rockwell, National Cathedral, Jr.

© Copyright 2001 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top