Golf  |  Lacrosse  |   Baseball & Softball  |  Soccer  |  Track & Field  |  Rowing  |  Gymnastics  |  Tennis
Left to right: Doug Hurson, Bullis; Daniel Kefale, Osbourn Park; Kelly Manders, DeMatha; Zach Spees, Westfield; Michael Perlmutter, Landon; Myles Vlachos, Urbana; Christian Freymeyer, Severn; Coach Arnold Tarzy, Churchill. Not pictured: Stephanie Connelly, Northeast; Sara Hurwitch, Dominion; Kyle Stough, DeMatha. (John McDonnell -- The Washington Post)


Players of the Year
Stephanie Connelly, Northeast, Sr.
The four-time All-Met completed her prep career as the most dominant female golfer in Maryland high school history. She set a tournament two-day record of even-par 144 to win her third Maryland girls' championship by three strokes. Spent the spring semester attending the David Leadbetter Golf Academy in Bradenton, Fla. Will play for Ohio State.

Daniel Kefale, Osbourn Park, Sr.
Made a terrific rally from eight strokes back after the first round to win the Virginia AAA championship. Had a stroke average of 69.5 and won the Quantico Invitational and the AAA Cedar Run District and Northwestern Region tournaments. Also claimed the Virginia State Golf Association junior title. Will play for Virginia.

Coach of the Year
Arnold Tarzy, Churchill
In his second season coaching, Tarzy guided the Bulldogs to their third consecutive Maryland 4A/3A championship, becoming the first school to win three consecutive Maryland titles. Churchill also won Montgomery County and district titles in each of past two seasons.

First Team
Christian Freymeyer, Severn, Sr.
Rebounded from a tough first round to finish third in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association tournament. Won 12 of 14 matches. Led team to its third consecutive undefeated season. Will play for Christopher Newport.

Doug Hurson, Bullis, Sr.
Shot 73 to win the Interstate Athletic Conference championship. Had a scoring average of 35.8 for nine holes and went 7-2 in match play. Qualified for the 2004 U.S. men's amateur. Will play for William & Mary.

Sara Hurwitch, Dominion, Jr.
Enjoyed success in coed and all-girls' competition. Won the Virginia AA Region II and Dulles District championships, finishing sixth in the Virginia AA tournament. Shot 72-73-145 to win the Virginia girls' championship.

Kelly Manders, DeMatha, Sr.
The repeat All-Met finished second in the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference tournament. Had a nine-hole average of 37.2. Went 10-2 in match play. A three-time junior champion at Congressional.

Michael Perlmutter, Landon, Jr.
Shot 73 on Congressional's Gold Course to card the low total in the Washington Private Schools Championship. Had seven rounds under par and set a team scoring record with an average of 36.4 for nine holes. Went 12-1 in match play.

Zach Spees, Westfield, Jr.
The long hitter used his 300-plus-yard drives to shoot 1-under 145 and win the Virginia AAA Northern Region title and lead the Bulldogs to the team championship. Finished sixth in the Virginia AAA tournament.

Kyle Stough, DeMatha, Jr.
The repeat All-Met holed a 175-yard 6-iron to spur a comeback victory and claim the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference title. Had a second consecutive undefeated match play season (12-0). Nine-hole average: 36.

Myles Vlachos, Urbana, Sr.
The Monocacy Valley Athletic League player of the year shot 69 to win his third consecutive Frederick County championship. Shot even-par 144 to finish third in Maryland 4A/3A tournament.

Honorable Mention
Matt Benz, Churchill, Sr.; Brian Brady, Yorktown, Jr.; John Buchanan, Robinson, Sr.; Chris Conroy, Key School, Sr.; Casey Finger, Churchill, Sr.; Chas Golibart, Sherwood, Sr.; Chris Hamm, Courtland, Soph.; Chip Hardie, Broadneck, Sr.; Sam Hoffer, Northern, Jr.; Ray Hyre, Bowie, Jr.; Nick Kelley, Loudoun Valley, Sr.; Dennis Kwon, Walter Johnson, Sr.; Hilary Lawson, Magruder, Soph.; Jeff Long, Westfield, Sr.

Nathan Manis, Osbourn, Sr.; Trevor Matese, Georgetown Prep, Jr.; Joe Monte, Chantilly, Soph.; Chris Murphy, Madison, Sr.; Seenu Narayanan, Jefferson, Sr.; Dean Norman, Woodberry Forest, Sr.; Chris O'Neil, Landon, Jr.; Alex Olshonsky, Walter Johnson, Sr.; Quinton Saum, Whitman, Sr.; Billy Stoutsenberger, Bowie, Sr.; Mitch Van Zandt, Severna Park, Sr.; Ryan Wielgus, Churchill, Sr.

© 2005 The Washington Post Company