Golf  |  Lacrosse  |   Baseball & Softball  |  Soccer  |  Track & Field  |  Rowing  |  Gymnastics  |  Tennis
Front row, from left: Keith Hall, Gonzaga; Jeff Henry, Bishop Ireton; Coach Rob Theriaque, Gonzaga; Kelly Lynch, Severna Park; Jay Mulieri, Gonzaga. Back row, from left: Joe Monte, Chantilly; Devin Kay, Churchill; Chris Hamm, Courtland; Kyle Stough, DeMatha; Trevor Matese, Georgetown Prep. Not pictured: Sam Hoffer, Northern. (Jonathan Newton -- The Washington Post)


Player of the Year
Trevor Matese
Georgetown Prep, Sr.

Matese shot even-par 71 and then won a two-hole playoff to claim the Interstate Athletic Conference title. He was medalist or co-medalist in eight of 15 events. Averaged 36.7 strokes per nine holes to help the Little Hoyas claim a share of IAC team championship. Will play for Georgetown.

Coach of the Year
Rob Theriaque

In his second season, Theriaque led the Eagles to their second straight Washington Catholic Athletic Conference title. The Eagles also won the Washington Private Schools Championship for the fourth time in six seasons. The team went 12-0 in match play during the regular season.

First Team
Keith Hall, Gonzaga, Sr.
The talented player improved throughout the season. Was undefeated in match play and made eagle on the final hole to win the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference title. Tied for third at the Washington Private Schools Championship.

Chris Hamm, Courtland, Jr.
Shot 1-under-par 139 to finish second in the Virginia AA championships. Also won the Region I championship and his third consecutive Battlefield District title. Averaged 72 strokes per round while leading his team to a 16-0 record.

Jeff Henry, Bishop Ireton, Sr.
Finished the WCAC season undefeated in match play and posted his fourth consecutive top-five finish at the WCAC tournament. Was the medalist at the Alexandria city championship.

Sam Hoffer, Northern, Sr.
Shared the Maryland 4A/3A championship with Devin Kay, and shot a 68 to win the Calvert County championship. Averaged 35 strokes during the regular season, the lowest average among Southern Maryland Athletic Conference golfers. Finished second in the SMAC tournament.

Devin Kay, Churchill, Sr.
Shared the Maryland 4A/3A championship with Sam Hoffer. Led his team to its fourth consecutive state title. Posted the lowest average in Montgomery County, averaging 35 strokes per nine holes.

Kelly Lynch, Severna Park, Jr.
Used a simplified swing and solid short game to claim the Maryland girls' championship. Also won the coed Anne Arundel County and District VI titles. Had Anne Arundel's lowest regular season scoring average, 2.8 strokes over par.

Joe Monte, Chantilly, Jr.
Shot 69-73--142 to finish 2 under par and win Virginia AAA championship. Averaged 71.1 strokes per round. Finished third in the Northern Region tournament, helping the Chargers win the team title.

Kyle Stough, DeMatha, Sr.
The three-time All-Met finished tied for third at the WCAC tournament. Lost only twice in the past three seasons in match play. Will play for Virginia.

Jay Mulieri, Gonzaga, Soph.
Shot a 73 at Congressional to win the Washington Private Schools Championship by four strokes. Was 7-1 in match play during the regular season.

Honorable Mention
Joe Alvarez, Gonzaga, Sr.; Jake An, Chantilly, Soph.; Mike Brideau, Bishop Ireton, Sr.; Danny Bosse, Loudoun Valley, Jr.; Greg Brouse, Heritage, Sr.; John Buchanan, Robinson, Sr.; Joe Buttgereit, Forest Park, Fr.; Steve Delmar, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Ryan Faw, Spalding, Sr.; Kelly Fitzgerald, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.; Eric Florenz, Severna Park, Jr.; Andy Gagarin, Landon, Sr.; Chas Golibart, Sherwood, Sr.; Vincent Hancock La Plata, Sr.

Sara Hurwitch, Dominion, Sr.; Ray Hyre, Bowie, Sr.; Scott Juhl, West Springfield, Sr.; Adam Klein, Whitman, Sr.; Gabe Lainez, Chantilly, Soph.; Hilary Lawson, Magruder, Jr.; Trevor Malet, Walter Johnson, Sr.; Mary Mattson, Urbana, Sr.; Shea McCarthy, Gonzaga, Sr.; Kyle Niemann, Northern, Soph.; Chris O'Neill, Landon, Sr.; Billy Peel, Churchill, Sr.; Ryan Poole, Pallotti, Sr.

Jerry Roma, Forest Park, Soph.; Dave Ruffer, Gonzaga, Jr.; Donnie Shin, Oakland Mills, Jr.; Stephen Spaulding, Battlefield, Sr.; Michael Spear, Westfield, Sr.; Zach Spees, Westfield, Sr.; Ryan Spikes, Chapelgate Christian, Sr.; Caroline Sweet, Eleanor Roosevelt, Soph.; Jessica Unger, Whitman, Sr.; Justin Wingo, Paul VI Catholic, Sr.

© 2006 The Washington Post Company