Baseball  |  Golf  |  Gymnastics  |  Lacrosse: Boys | Girls  |  Rowing: Boys | Girls
Soccer: Boys | Girls  |  Softball  |  Tennis: Boys | Girls  |  Track: Boys | Girls

Boys' Soccer

First Team  |  Second Team  |  Honorable Mention

Player of the Year

Mike DiNuzzo, Sr.
Osbourn Park  |  Defender
DiNuzzo, a center back, anchored a Yellow Jackets defense that surrendered only 11 goals and had nine shutouts. He started every game the last four seasons, and his toughness, tenacity and leadership skills helped Osbourn Park to a 65-7-6 record during that span. Will play for William & Mary.

Coach of the Year

Dave Gryder
Potomac Falls
In his fourth season at the school, Gryder took a 102-17-14 career record and a 41-game unbeaten streak into this year's playoffs -- a run that includes last season's Virginia AA championship. Gryder tweaked his defensive personnel midseason, which resulted in eight shutouts in 10 games and a third straight Dulles District regular season crown.

First Team


Rodrigo Guevara Ken Manahan Niki Kapus Nik Conklin
West Springfield, Sr.
Chancellor, Sr.
Robinson, Sr.
North Stafford , Jr.
The first-team AAA Northern Region center back excelled at winning balls in the air and standing his ground in one-on-one situations. He anchored a defense that had six shutouts and surrendered less than a goal per game. The 6-foot-5 Manahan controlled the air space in front of the goal. The AA Battlefield District player of the year is quick and agile enough to make the spectacular save. Will play for James Madison. The AAA Northern Region player of the year gave opposing defenses fits with his size (6 feet 2), vision and powerful leg. He set the tempo for the Rams' potent attack with 12 goals and five assists. The Wolverines' co-captain led them to a second straight AAA Commonwealth District title and a 12-0 district record. Vision and passing made him the vital cog in a blue-collar attack. He had three goals and nine assists.


Eber Martinez Brendan Shaffer A.J. Sheta
Gar-Field, Sr.
Battlefield, Sr.
Westfield, Jr.
The repeat All-Met was named a Parade Magazine all-American for the second straight year. His passing, vision and leadership were the driving forces behind the Indians' attack. He scored 17 goals and had nine assists. Overcame a potentially fatal staph infection in the offseason to lead the Bobcats to a 13-2 regular season record. His powerful leg and field sense made him a scoring threat anywhere in the offensive third. He had 12 goals and six assists. Will play for Radford. The first-team AAA Northern Region selection is one of the area's top scoring threats because of his strong leg and toughness in traffic. He had 10 goals and 12 assists to lead the Bulldogs to their second Concorde District title in three years.


Joe Barnd Jose Colchao Uche Onyeador C.J. Sapong
W.T. Woodson, Sr.
Lake Braddock, Sr.
Potomac Falls, Jr.
Forest Park, Sr.
The repeat All-Met is a first-class goal scorer because of his sublime ball skills on the attack. As the focus of double- and triple-teams all season, he had eight goals and three assists. Will play for Michigan State. The AAA Patriot District player of the year was one of the area's most feared scorers despite battling a foot injury all season. His speed helped him total 12 goals and four assists and lead the Bruins to their fourth straight district title. Will play for Georgetown. The repeat All-Met and 2006 Virginia AA player of the year led the Panthers to their third consecutive Dulles District regular season title. His scoring knack and finesse are unparalleled in the area. He scored 36 goals. The 6-foot-1 Sapong led Forest Park to the AAA Cardinal District title with his size, speed and nose for the goal. The electric striker (21 goals) is a threat to score every time he touches the ball. Will play for James Madison.

Second Team

GK - Tommy King, North Stafford, Sr.
D - Seth Goldman, Robinson, Jr.
D - Ronnie Shaban, Stone Bridge, Jr.
D - Zach Ward, Battlefield, Sr.
MF - Kai Eckenrode, West Springfield, Jr.
MF - Alex Foskett, Osbourn Park, Sr.
MF - Alex Herrera, Yorktown, Soph.
MF - Chris McClaugherty, Brentsville, Sr.
MF - David Menzie, Chantilly, Sr.
F - Harry Beddo, Jefferson, Sr.
F - J.C. Cabrera, Gar-Field, Sr.
F - Antonio Soto, Fairfax, Soph.

Honorable Mention

Goalkeepers: Dustin Butcher, Sherando, Jr.; Michael Conrad, Washington-Lee, Sr.; Joey Dennis, Osbourn Park, Jr.; Justin Epperson, Oakton, Sr.; Luis Guevara, Gar-Field, Jr.; Kelley Love, Hayfield, Sr.; Sean Newmeyer, West Springfield, Sr.; Austin Shangraw, Potomac Falls, Sr.; Chris Torres, McLean, Sr.

Defenders: Anthony Andrianarison, George Mason, Soph.; Ian Aquino, Lake Braddock, Sr.; Riley Dean, North Stafford, Sr.; Stephen Dunlap, Washington-Lee, Sr.; Neema Faramand, Forest Park, Sr.; Jimmy Khorsandi, Yorktown, Jr.; James Mallon, Heritage, Sr.; Trey Messiah, Westfield, Jr.; Michael Purdy, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Nate Thomas, West Springfield, Sr.

Midfielders: John Allison, North Stafford, Sr.; Jai An, Annandale, Sr.; Mike Handlin, Liberty, Sr.; Trip Henning, Yorktown, Sr.; Justin Johnson, Jefferson, Sr.; Sergei Moody, Langley, Sr.; Benjamin Okeyre, Mount Vernon, Jr.; Travis Pittman, Osbourn, Soph.; Matt Swaney, Potomac Falls, Sr.; Owen Thomas, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Mike Urbanik, Broad Run, Sr.

Forwards: Ben Biber, Potomac Falls, Sr.; Rahul Chaudry, Langley, Jr.; Brian Esoda, Loudoun Valley, Sr.; Kurt Freemyer, Yorktown, Jr.; Mardong Guevara, Woodbridge, Jr.; Eli Hajjar, Robinson, Jr.; Justin Hitchens, Riverbend, Sr.; Ryan Hymes, Stafford, Sr.; Matt Murgia, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Sean Murnane, Westfield, Soph.; Mayowa Owalabi, Forest Park, Sr.

© The Washington Post Company