Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

News Home Page
News Digest
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
- All-Met History
 1999-2000 Winter All-Mets
- Sports Pages
   Track and Field
- Directory
- Polls
Leagues and Sports
Photo Galleries
Live Online
Sports Index
Weekly Sections
Print Edition
News Index

All-Mets All-Mets
Back row, left to right: Allen Simms (Eleanor Roosevelt), Kyle Farmer (Oakland Mills), Alan Webb (South Lakes), Jason Lewis (Potomac, Va.), Andre Thompson (Spingarn). Front row, left to right: Jerry Harris (West Potomac), Unyime Akpan (Ballau), James Small (McLean), Rickey Harris (Centreville), Chris Parsons (Northern). Not pictured: Dwight Thomas (Northwestern), Rico Lloyd (Potomac, Va.), Frank Tolen (Stonewall Jackson). (By Michael Lutzky - The Post)

Athlete of the Year |  Coach of the Year
First-Team | Honorable Mention

Athlete of the Year
Rickey Harris, Centreville, Sr.
Repeat All-Met Athlete of the Year. Tied national record in 60-meter hurdles (7.62) at Nike Indoor Classic in Bloomington, Ind. Also placed second in 400 in that meet. Ranked first in nation in 55 hurdles (7.24) and third in 300 (33.74).
Virginia champion in 55 hurdles and 300 and a bronze medalist in 55-meter dash.

Coach of the Year
Bob Digby, Lake Braddock
Despite having no individual event winners, led Bruins to their second Virginia AAA Northern Region title in three years and a second-place finish in the state meet. Coached relay teams to 26 out of a possible 30 points at Northern Region meet and led 4x800 relay team to a third place finish at National Scholastic Indoor meet in 7:56.1 seconds.

First Team
Unyime Akpan, Ballou, Sr.
Set D.C. record in 55-meter hurdles (7.42). Placed fourth in 60-meter hurdles (8.01) at National Scholastic Indoor.
Kyle Farmer, Oakland Mills, Jr.
Repeat All-Met. Won 55 and 300 at Maryland 2A 1A championships. Placed fourth in 200 at National Scholastic Indoor (21.81).
Jerry Harris, West Potomac, Sr.
Top-ranked in the nation in 500 (1:04.64). Part of winning 4x200 relay at Nike Indoor Classic (1:31.26).
Jason Lewis, Potomac (Va.), Sr.
At Virginia AAA meet, won 1,600 (4:23.10). Anchored sprint medley relay that placed second at National Scholastic Indoor (3:29.71).
Rico Lloyd, Potomac (Va.), Sr.
Won medals in 55 dash, 300 and long jump at Virginia AAA championships helping team to second straight title.
Chris Parsons, Northern, Sr.
Maryland 3A 2A shot put champion. Placed fourth at Nike Indoor Classic with a throw of 59 feet 11 inches.
Allen Simms, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.
Repeat All-Met. Won triple jump (50-10) and long jump (24-0 D) at Nike Indoor Classic. Is ranked second nationally in both events.
James Small, McLean, Jr.
Won 1,000 meters at Virginia AAA championships (2:30.05). Placed third in 800 at National Scholastic Indoor (1:53.47).
Dwight Thomas, Northwestern, Sr.
Repeat All-Met. At National Scholastic Indoor, won 60-meter dash (6.73) and 60-meter hurdles (7.92).
Frank Tolen, Stonewall Jackson, Sr.
Virginia champion in triple jump (47-4), placed second in 300 (34.48) and 55 hurdles (7.45).
Andre Thompson, Spingarn, Sr.
D.C. champion in 300 and 500. Owns the area's fastest time in 200 (21.8) and is third in 300 (34.6), second in 400 (48.97).
Alan Webb, South Lakes, Jr.
Nation's top miler, won the event at Nike Indoor Classic (4:07.88). Won Virginia AAA 3,200-meter run in 8:59.96, breaking 21-year-old record.

Honorable Mention
Nathan Alexander H.D. Woodson
Jay Colbert Gaithersburg
Frank Francois Lake Braddock
Ron Frazier Gaithersburg
Luis George Long Reach
Howard Jefferson DeMatha
Aaron Johnson Fairmont Heights
Luqman Kolade Gonzaga
Shaun Luncheon Sherwood
Busayo Ojumu T.C. Williams
Delante Penn-Andrews Eastern
Ashley Simmons Lake Braddock
Jerod Void Surrattsville
Adrian Washington DeMatha

Distance Runners
Jason Airing Linganore
Jamie Albertine Whitman
Dan Antalics O'Connell
Andrew Dunnum Robinson
Ricardo Iracks Ballou
Matt Maline Oakton
Tim Oliver Lake Braddock
Matt Seymour Magruder
David Silver Jefferson
Jason Smith Dunbar
L.A. Snead Robinson
Leon Snyder Largo
Mike Styczynski River Hill
Victor Thillet Old Mill
Dwayne Thomas Northwestern

Field Events
Joe Almand North Stafford
Jason Fludd Brooke Point
Andre Hammond Spingarn
David Hinton Queen Anne's County
Mark Kupets Langley
Yeahmu Kyne Eleanor Roosevelt
Adam Leach Northern
Jeremy Moore Broadneck
Teddy Presley Oakton
John Rauer O'Connell
Brandon Royster Fairfax
Chris Smith Culpeper
T.J. Stahl Marshall
David Sullivan Centreville

© Copyright 2000 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top