Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

News Home Page
News Digest
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
- All-Met History
 1999-2000 Winter All-Mets
- Sports Pages
   Track and Field
- Directory
- Polls
Leagues and Sports
Photo Galleries
Live Online
Sports Index
Weekly Sections
Print Edition
News Index

All-Mets All-Mets
Back row, left to right: Erin Swain (Lake Braddock), Tysha Colon (H.D. Woodson), Danielle Stoddart (Oakland Mills), Teyarnte Carter (Long Reach), Sheena Johnson (Gar-Field), Lee McDuff (River Hill). Front row, left to right: Erica Johnson (Dunbar), Charlotte LaRoche (Centreville), India Odum (Hayfield), Nikeya Green (Hayfield), Alyssa Aiken (Chantilly), Krystle Moss (Jefferson), Kelley Otstott (Jefferson). (By Michael Lutzky - The Post)

Athlete of the Year |  First-Team
Coach of the Year |  Honorable Mention

Athlete of the Year
Sheena Johnson, Gar-Field, Sr.
Second consecutive year she has earned the honor. At Virginia AAA championships, set or tied state records and national marks in 55 hurdles (7.75), long jump (19-8) and 500 (1:13.19). Second in nation in 300 (38.69). Also won state title in triple jump and was second in the event at the National Scholastic Indoor meet. Selected by Track and Field Magazine as last season's Indoor High School Athlete of the Year.

Coach of the Year
Darryl Hamilton, Largo
Led the Lions to the 4A 3A state title, ending a string of 10 consecutive titles won by Eleanor Roosevelt. Coached 4x200 relay team to a time of 1:39.4, the second-fastest time in the nation, at the National Scholastic Indoor meet. His 4x400 relay team took seventh at national meet.

First Team
Alyssa Aiken, Chantilly, Sr.
Repeat All-Met. Virginia AAA champion in 55 and 300. Won 300 in state-record 38.3 (nation's top time this year).
Teyarnte Carter, Long Reach, Sr.
Won 55 dash at Virginia Tech Invitational in 7.03. Placed second in 60 dash at National Scholastic Indoor (7.48).
Tysha Colon, H.D. Woodson, Jr.
Placed sixth at the National Scholastic Indoor in 200 (24.69), leading time in the area. Won the DCIAA indoor 55-meter dash.
Nikeya Green, Hayfield, Sr.
Second in 800 at Nike Indoor Classic (2:12.06). Clocked Washington area's best time in mile (5:03.41), second-best time in 1,000 (2:55.93).
Erica Johnson, Dunbar, Soph.
Won 300 and 500, placed second in 55 and third in 1,000 at the DCIAA championships. City leader in 300 (41.55), 400 (57.60) and 500 (1:18.82).
Charlotte LaRoche, Centreville, Sr.
Set Virginia AAA record in pole vault (11 feet) after missing entire junior season because of knee surgery. Best vault this season was 11-6.
Lee McDuff, River Hill, Jr.
Repeat All-Met. Maryland 3A 2A champion in 1,600 and 3,200. Anchored state-champion 4x800 relay. Region champ in 800.
Krystle Moss, Jefferson, Jr.
Won Virginia AAA high jump title with state-record jump of 5-8 D. Won the event at the National Scholastic Indoor meet.
India Odum, Hayfield, Sr.
At Virginia AAA championships, won shot put with a state-record throw of 45-06 D. Also won the event at district and region meets.
Kelley Otstott, Jefferson, Jr.
Repeat All-Met. Virginia runner-up in 1,000 (2:55.05). Third in 800 at National Scholastic Indoor (2:11.64).
Danielle Stoddart, Oakland Mills, Sr.
Led team to victory at Maryland 2A 1A meet, winning 500 and 800 and anchoring first-place 3,200-meter relay.
Erin Swain, Lake Braddock, Sr.
State champion in 1,600 and 3,200. Recorded area's best time in two-mile (10:57.84), which is also top time in Virginia.

Honorable Mention

Melanie Bailey, Largo
Lynsie Battle, Hayfield
Cristina Borden, Hayfield
April Butler, Gwynn Park
Crystlle Church, Eleanor Roosevelt
Renee Clarke, Eleanor Roosevelt
Rachel Clinton, Oakland Mills
Amy Conteh, Oakton
Schnavia Felder, Suitland
Antoinette Gorham, Eleanor Roosevelt
Michelle Hart, O'Connell
Jessica Jennings, H.D. Woodson
India Ransom, Largo
Keosha Sanders, Brooke Point
Chanelle Sirmons, Central
Chiquita Stephens, Largo

Distance Runners
Martha Buckley, Wilson
Christina Burleson, Mount Vernon
Keira Carlstrom, Oakton
Lauren Chalkin, Marshall
Colleen Connell, Brooke Point
Dionne Evans, Gar-Field
Yasmin Fields, Ballou
Erin Masterson, Annapolis
Carin Miller, Chantilly
Denise Montgomery, Central
Karen Pulliam, Quince Orchard
Leslie Schultz, Langley
Kelly Swain, Lake Braddock

Field Events
Ayanna Alexander, McLean
Carrie Bennett, Hayfield
Sabrina Boyd, DuVal
Victoria Buskirk, North Stafford
Donisha Freeman, Mount Vernon
Tianna Goldring, La Plata
Lauren Graff, Urbana
Ashley Horn, Potomac (Md.)
Takeithia Jordan, Gar-Field
Alicia LaRoche, Centreville
Bonnie Meekins, Oakton
Jennifer Nelms, Spotsylvania
Cynthia Nicholls, Long Reach
Kira Sims, Gar-Field
Latetia Walker, Gar-Field
Nikki Woodhouse, Jefferson

© Copyright 2000 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top